We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Black Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Black Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Royston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've just had a wonderful two night break at the Black Swan. This was an experience of total unhurried relaxation to the point where we didn't bother to switch on the TV or take a morning paper because we just didn't want the outside world to intrude. The welcoming atmosphere made us feel right at home and we loved Huggy, the teddy bear who lives in the room we stayed in. Rooms are attractive and welcoming, we lost each other in the king size duvet and the bed was really comfy. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay excellent and the food was innovative, different and delicious. The afternoon tea experience was quite literally the cream on the cake! It felt more like a visit with old friends. The immediate area itself had plenty to occupy and interest us for the time we were there although there were far more attractions within easy reach had we desired them. This is a great 'foodie' experience and a good base for walking the Cleveland way too. If you want to feel thoroughly spoiled then the Black Swan is certainly worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    176
    81
    43
    27
See reviews for
69
555
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our room overlooked the square in the centre of Helmsley. Room was good although some areas of the hotel showing signs of wear. Looks like some refurbishment is currently being undertaken.
Restaurant quality and service standards were excellent - not many places operate to such high standards these days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went for my In-laws 50th wedding anniversary, the food and service was great. Having arrived early we were shown into the lounge area to wait the arrival of the other guests. The food was great and plenty of it. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble for them, Members of the family who had come from New York and London had stayed overnight and had positive things to say about the rooms. I would recommend this as somewhere to hold those specials occasions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Enjoyed a hastily arranged one night stay. Accommodation, food and service all fantastic. Our room overlooked market square which late at night and early morning is a very beautiful part of the town. Dinner had a great range for all and with the knowledge of the staff on our food an all round great experience. First impressions very important and the greeting on arriving boded well for the whole experience.
Will enjoy this again soon but this time for a few more nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If it is bargain break you are looking for then this is not the venue for you. If you want a hotel with good old fashioned service, helpful staff, nice rooms and great food then this is the place.
We had room 42 which overlooked the small lane down the side of the hotel. It was a long walk from reception but it was large, airy recently redecorated and spotlessly clean. Best of all it was quiet. Despite there being a wedding reception in full swing we heard nothing and probably enjoyed the best night sleep in a long time.
Our stay was just for one Saturday night so we went for the dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Good menu, beautiflly cooked food and a very comprehensive wine list.
When we booked out we were sorry that we were not staying longer. No complaints at all.
The following Tuesday we received a hand wrtten postcard thanking us for our stay. Talk about attention to detail.
Oh by the way be prepared to buy the Teddy in the room, thet are way too cute!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a long walk the rooms at the rear are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willaston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reviewing a 'Yorkshire tea trail' brochure where the Black Swan was mentioned, my husband and I went to the Black Swan to enjoy a luxury cream tea on the last day of our holiday. We were prepared to pay a little more for the experience but after finding that two pots of tea and two scones came to just under £15, we expected the service to be exceptional. It wasn't.

We sat at an outside table for ten minutes, but no-one came. I went into the tea room and asked if it was ok to sit outside. The staff member said yes, take a menu. We chose our cream tea, then waited. And waited. After a further 15 minutes, I went in and ordered our food/drink at the counter and paid the hefty sum. There was no 'sorry for your wait'. I then returned to our table. Later investigation found that all the other tables had 'please order at counter' written on stickers on them, but ours didn't...

After 5 minutes the waitress came out with our pots of tea, stating 'I don't know why I bother, I might just go home now' - not exactly a friendly welcome! With our teas and empty plates ready, we then had to wait 5 - 10 minutes for our scones to arrive, by which time our teas (no cosies) had cooled considerably. My scone was squashed and wonky - not a great complaint, but after slicing it left little surface for the important jam and cream! However, the tea and scones were tasty.

The one saving grace of this experience was that as we left the male member of staff waved and said goodbye. But all in all for the price we expected excellent service and were very disappointed and felt it was a huge waste of money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were booked in for 2 nights d,b&b (Friday and Saturday), 1st night dinner and 1st morning breakfast fantastic food and service the staff were really attentive and helpful. Evening of the 2nd night the service was terrible due to the hotel holding a wedding party and the poor staff were unable to cope with the additional clients. We were asked to take a seat in the bar and told a waiter would come over for our order 20 mins later we eventually attracted the eye of a waiter and he took our order. 10 mins later we were still waiting for our drinks and menus after we chased yet again we received them without any apology by a very flustered waitress and we were then asked to move into the restaurant. We did not have a chance to relax with our pre-dinner drinks there were 3 other resident parties received the same poor service. As we had complained about the service it was obvious the staff were not happy and the service we received in the restaurant was very poor and really spoilt what should have been a lovely relaxing break. The poor service continued at breakfast on the Sunday and others were also affected we all had to chase our coffee/toast as well as having to ask for someone to take our order for breakfast. My husband had a full English and he did not receive all the components and the couple next to us was exactly the same and had to inform the staff.
It would appear the staff could not cope with a full hotel and wedding party and service suffered.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are quieter as front of hotel faces main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.