We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Swan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Black Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Black Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

So we end our 200 mile walk after staying in the full spectrum of B&B’s and hotels and we arrive at The Black Swan, this is where our wives meet us and we all have a good night out.

Now you have read all the reviews and you know this hotel has a 2-rosette restaurant and is rated as a 4 star hotel. So it’s fair to say our expectations were very high – after all this is a top dollar hotel and restaurant.
Our greeting at the front desk was abrupt and not in your wildest dreams could have been described as welcoming.
The tearoom was okay the service good but the pastry was dry and past it’s best!

The room was fine with big soft fluffy towels and a very comfortable bed. The turndown service was carried out unobtrusively and the room and bathroom were ‘as new’ after we returned from dinner.

The dinner was a disaster – now I fully except after re reading all the other comments that we have been unlucky – but it doesn’t alter the fact that our ‘special night’ was dreadful! A synopsis of the events are as follows:

a) Of the 4 menus we were given 1 was different – when queried we told that we could share the 3 correct ones!
b) When we ordered (from the correct menus) we were advised there had been a typing error and dish didn’t have scallops.
c) The sommelier didn’t know the wine we ordered by name and we had to give them the number.
d) When the dish arrived it did have scallops – talk about right and left hand!
e) We sat down at our table at 20:00 and our main course didn’t arrive until 22:05.
f) My main was tepid 2 others were overcooked and one was good.
g) The waitress asked if everything was okay – if you don’t want to know you shouldn’t ask the question – so we told her what the problems were. To which she started to argue the toss! The restaurant manager miraculously appeared and apologised profusely.
h) Now for the first time it turned into a 2 rosette restaurant, he comped our not inconsiderable drinks bill and was professionalism personified.

Since returning we have had a letter from the General Manager apologising for the service we received. I have therefore thought long and hard about whether I should write this review. We heard another diner in the restaurant congratulating the staff on a lovely meal etc. I’m sure my experience must have been well below their normal standards but you can only speak as find.

I ask myself this question would I go again? The answer is unfortunately NO I would not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    162
    78
    43
    26
See reviews for
63
511
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's a lovely hotel with a lively bar, excellent food and a great location in the beautiful town of Helmsley. We had a few issues, though. We were stuck in the very farthest room which was a good walk from reception and didn't have much of a view to speak of. The radiator was stuck in the 'on' position and I reported it. However, I had to go to reception later to find out if it had been fixed and nobody seemed to know. In the end they offered us a different room and moved all our stuff for us while we were out. At breakfast I noticed that the (hot) food of the chap on the table next to us was brought to his table while he was away from the table which is pretty bad form. Also the couple next to us seemed annoyed at having to chase for coffee etc. Also the shower wasn't great and caused a seriously wet floor. But overall I think 4 stars is fair - you should definitely try the restaurant, it was top notch food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've now stayed at this hotel twice and been thoroughly impressed each time. Having stayed in both the garden rooms at the back and also a room at the front, overlooking the square I can say that both are extremely well-appointed and comfortable.

The packages they offer are definitely worth the money and the food is exceptional, with a great atmosphere in the dining room and also for breakfast in the morning (where there is a fantastic selection of cooked dishes and cold food).

The staff are incredibly friendly and the hotel has some lovely touches to make it a really cosy, romantic and welcoming hotel. It's the perfect place to get away from it all, the village is picturesque and the hotel really makes it stand out for a trip. We drive all the way up from London just to go there.

We are returning for our third stay in a few weeks and I'm really looking forward to it - July can't come quickly enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a lovely afternoon tea every thing was fresh,tasty,and well presented,
The staff were polite efficient and friendly.
The decor and cleanliness of the hotel very good.
Not the cheapest but I think worth the money for a treat.
We had a pleasant walk around the square and browsed in a few shops and then visited Duncombe park for the bird of prey demonstration .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the bank holiday weekend. On the downside, the room was on the small side, but then it is an older property and you have to expect that. The view was also average from room 7 - looking onto a neighbour's wall or obliquely towards the street. However, we were there for the location - Helmsley, which is a very attractive town - and for the evening meal at The Star in a village nearby.
As we were eating elsewhere, we didn't sample the dining in the restaurant, though I confess it looked rather nice. The service; in the bar, at the reception, and at breakfast next day was all first class.
We chose to stay here because it was slightly cheaper than the Feversham Arms - and I think we made the right choice.

Room Tip: Parking to the rear and front is plentiful - which is a bonus on a bank holiday weekend in Hlemsley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As the proud father of the bride on Sunday 26 may 2013 and also having the key financial interest in the proceedings, I am very pleased to give my report on this hotel. In simple terms, from the personal planner who looked after my daughters requirements to the finest detail, through to the management and service of all the staff on the day, I cannot find any aspect of the event that wasnt to expectation. A big thankyou to all.
As the final song played at midnight summed up the occasion - it truly was a perfect day. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went with friends for afternoon tea. Great to have the choice of dining in the tea shop or the Hotel Lounge, (we chose the lounge, more for comfort than anything). This was my first ever afternoon tea dining so didn't know what to expect. We were told what was included and asked if we would like tea or coffee. The service was prompt, efficient and friendly, but not intrusive. The food was well presented and the tea hot, with as many teapot refills as we wanted. There were sandwiches, scones (two each) with preserve and clotted cream and a selection of tiny cakes brought to us. The waitress said not to worry if we couldn't eat everything, that they had boxes to take things home in. All in all a good experience, but would have appreciated some choice of things to eat, it felt too much like a set menu and for £17.50 more options should have been available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.