We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Swan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Black Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Black Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Darwen, lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at The Black Swan on a few occasions, so thought it was time for a review. My biggest 'gripe' about hotels/restaurants in general is that they are not consistently good & often disappoint on subsequent stays - not so for The Black Swan.
The staff are always friendly & attentive, without being too obtrusive, are very knowledgable, particularly the restaurant staff - staff training & customer service are obviously a priority.
The food in the restaurant is of a very high standard, with enough variety each time we have dined there - this time we had the tasting menu - excellent! A good variety, portion size just right & all explained beautifully by the waiting staff......the ambiance just right, & I love the twinkly lights in the ceiling! ( a minor fault with the lighting resulted in the overhead lights being used & were too bright for my liking.....only a temporary measure tho)
The bar is ideal for pre-dinner drinks, and the last couple of times we stayed there has been a singer (Val Boyers) which has 'livened' up the end of the evening (a little dancing even took place!) - my only criticism is it can get full.....an extension maybe an idea!! (There is also a further lounge should you not wish to be sung to!)
....and finally the bedrooms....always spotless with everything you may need, & whilst they have been updated in recent years, the time may be approaching for a bathroom refurb programme to begin....all in good time I guess.
In conclusion - The Black Swan may not be an all-round perfect 'physical specimen' - but as a package - (food/staff/atmosphere) I love the place, and feel The Black Swan just 'get it right'....whatever that may mean......and will return very soon....hopefully!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the square enables you to watch the world go by from the window seat....however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    162
    78
    43
    26
See reviews for
63
510
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited our daughter in York for Easter. After Holy Mass at St Margaret Clitheroe Church Dave, our son-in-law drove to Helmsley, one of my favourite towns, where we went to The Black Swan for coffee. The reception in the hotel was so welcoming, the setting so agreeable that breakfast was ordered for the five of us. Alison, in charge of catering, was kindness personified, ensuring that my wife's lactose intolerance was covered and that all our needs were satisfied.Currently, there are residential bargains to be had and I would heartily recommend them if our experience could be replicated in The Hotel in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

we stayed at the black swan me and my husband and our two friends the rooms were lovely and clean and the staff everywhere were so helpful and very professional. the meals were absolutely fantastic and the afternoon tea was to die for would definately return again but for longer.thank you to all staff.


mrs r coates
mr and mrs h butler

Room Tip: doesnt matter which room you get there all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We won an overnight stay at the Black Swan and decided to go for my husband's birthday. We were a little nervous as weren't sure, as we'd won a competition whether we'd get a cheapie room but our room was amazing - overlooking the main square with a gorgeous sofa and window-seat and lovely decor - AND they take dogs - a major bonus for us.
The staff were all incredibly friendly and attentive - they made us feel really welcome and were all really enthusiastic about the fact we'd won a night there. We were treated to a truly fabulous champagne afternoon tea - we couldn't quite believe the size of it - and it tasted fab!
The bar staff were great and really friendly but we HAVE to praise the dinner - it was imaginative, incredibly tasty and just SO interesting. It's been a long time since we've actually been interested enough in the food to talk about it! We also have to say thank you to our waiter, Stuart - he really made the meal as he knew SO much about the ingredients and the cooking ... but also the local history (and history in general) - we almost invited him to dinner with us!!!
The village itself is really interesting with great local shops and there are really interesting castle ruins. Only 30 minutes from York and close to the Scarborough coast too it's a great place to stay, full of interest.
Everyone genuinely seemed happy to see our dogs (which really makes a difference as not all 'dog-friendly' hotel genuinely seem to enjoy having dogs around) and the dogs bowl with bones with a lovely added touch!
We'd love to go back for a longer stay!

Room Tip: We loved the first floor room with the window seat overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have just returned from a two day midweek break which I had purchased as a birthday treat for my widowed sister.
It surpassed all expectations!!
The staff from reception,bar,and restaurant were welcoming, professional, and exceedingly proficient.We were looked after so well, our room (upgraded),was lovely, the lounge had a wonderful log fire and the decor throughout very pleasant.
I would like to congratulate the staff for making it such a wonderful experience and especially the chef - the food was superb!
Hope to return in May.

M. Antliff.Co Durham

Room Tip: Signature rooms are worth the extra with wonderful views of Helmsley A midweek break is an ideal ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me and my husband spent one night in this hotel. The rooms were good, but in a 4 star hotel they should be. I was hoping for more of a boutique style room, we recently stayed at hotel du vin and they are not a patch on them. As we were checking in there was a wedding party just going in to dine,, so it was all very hectic and whilst the receptionist was friendly she seemed slightly preoccupied with the wedding. The bar looked lovely, not that we could get in it during the whole of our stay! During Saturday afternoon there was a rugby match on in the bar and it was full and noisy.Not really what you want when staying somewhere like this, I was expecting to be able to have a nice quiet drink, they really do need to lose the tv!
As everyone has said the restaurant is really special. The staff are lovely and the food excellent. If you enjoy the fine dining experience you should stay here.
Breakfast again was nice, but unfortunately not very well organised. We had to ask 4 times for some toast!
Overall I would recommend this hotel mainly for the restaurant. I think you can get better hotels for the amount of money that it cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wow, this hotel has improved so much since our last visit a few years ago. The staff were wonderful, helpful & happy. We wanted to change our room as we wanted to be upstairs and it was done in a matter of minutes. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was simply delicious. Our waitress (Kate) was fantastic. The room was a good size with a king size bed, it was warm, clean & very welcoming. Thank you we will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.