We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of ten! Perfect in everyway!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa to your Saves list
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High St, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Ten out of ten! Perfect in everyway!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Words fail me when I try to describe how perfect our stay here really was.

The staff ALL perfectly helpful, polite and friendly - really going that extra mile for you.
Valet car parking service in underground car park - very helpful.
The Decor of the hotel - gorgeous!! - country chic.
The Room - perfect again. decor, size, bed, view of the pool, entertainment system, breakfast in bed, bath and shower, l'occtaine items and wonderful local bubble bath.
Dining - we were treat like royalty, the wine list is amazing, the food is indescribable(in a good way) and lots of things are locally sourced.
The Spa - again treat like royalty, beautiful decor and lovely staff. Changing facilities are second to none and the treatments and rooms are spot on too.

Our eight years anniversary was made very special by our experience at the Feversham and we could not fault one single thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    191
    120
    77
    29
See reviews for
86
505
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My personal description is 'boutique country hotel', smart and comfy, with lots of attention to detail. From the DVD's and CD's in your room to the impeccable service from all staff, even a 2 night stay was truly memorable! The food and drinks were exceptional, without eye watering prices, make sure you enjoy the evening meal it's so worth it. The spa is worthy of a full day, to really enjoy it make sure you book a package as these are the best value (and feel really special). If you enjoy a place that the staff remember your name and your plans for the day, but feels relaxed and laid back at the same time, this will be your kind of hotel! Can not recommend enough!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

My partner treated me to a couple of nights at The Feversham Arms last valentines day and we fell in love with the place, so when we needed somewhere to visit on our minimoon, we decided to come back and what a great choice, it's stylish, but homely with great food,a fantastic spa and wonderful service. We booked a normal double and got upgraded to a spa suite, which was just gorgeous! There was a bottle of Champagne on our arrival and a congratulations card -what a nice touch! Service was attentive, yet not intrusive and the staff were incredibly efficient.

I had previously read some 'not so great' reviews on here about the Fev and wondered if they were talking about the same place!!??

A brilliant little boutique hotel - with staff that can't do enough for you.

Mr and Mrs Lenney

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

My husband and I came here on our minimoon. The location is amazing - Helmsley is absolutely beautiful. The concierge was lovely - very helpful and offered to arrange collection of our luggage from the car. She showed us around the room and when she realised that it was our honeymoon, we received a half-bottle of champagne that evening. Very nice! The bar was lovely - comfy sofas - felt like we were in someone's house. The restaurant was also great - the food was gorgeous. My only complaint was that the courses were served too quickly. The food is very rich and would benefit from some digestion time between courses, although I realise that this is not everyone's preference. The service is very friendly, which may also not be to everyone's taste, especially if you're not from the North (I am but I live in London and so I know the relative differences regarding interaction with strangers!!) The room that we had was a suite, which was absolutely massive and had some lovely personal touches to it. We had two great bathrooms and loads and loads of Occitane products - a definite bonus for me! The only negative comment about the room is that the curtains were not blackout and so if you're a light sleeper, beware. Finally another small snagging point - internet access was terrible, probably because the hotel is so remote. The title of this review sums up my feelings - it was absolutely lovely , however that did come at a price of £1000 for two nights, which is a lot of money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I stayed at the Feversham Arms with a friend on a suite package and we stayed in one of the spa suites. WOW WOW WOW!!!! This was the best hotel I have ever stayed at - The place was very welcoming, staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, the food was outstanding and our day and a half in the Verbena Spa was as lovely as it could possibly be.
We had a balcony with our suite so we had breakfast delivered to our room and we ate it on the balcony in the sunshine. The beds were very comfortable and luxurious, pillows too.
The bathroom had a built in radio and the bath and shower were just amazing.
There was a free car park and the hotel is 1 minutes walk from the local shops and market square which is very quaint.
I can honestly say that neither of us had one grumble!!!!!

Now we just need to get saving for our return trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brewood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

My 50th birthday was spoilt. When we booked we asked if the room was away from traffic noise. We were told not to worry as the location was a small market town and there was very little traffic.....not true as we listened to lorries - one after another - from 6am - quite spoiling the break. We had planned on extending the stay if we lhad a good experie nce but went somewhere else for our other 2 nights. Check that your room is away from the road. Attitude when we checked out was very dismissive.
Not good that you have to pay a daily rate to use the spa - you can't even get a sauna - only the outside pool is included in the room rate. On a positive note; the food was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of my 30th birthday present. She had booked us on a 'food lovers' package which included afternoon tea on arrival, dinner and breakfast.

We arrived early in the afternoon and were greeted by the concierge who efficiently dealt with our bags and then parked the car for us (not something we would ever expect people to do but this is clearly the norm for them and made us feel a bit special from the beginning!). We were checked in promptly and shown round the public areas to help familiarise us with everything on offer. The pool was open and in use but despite this and it being a lovely sunny day we opted to pass on this occasion. The receptionist then showed us to our room and gave a brief overview of its amenities, including the TV which was very impressive to say the least!

Having unpacked, we went and sat in the lounge enjoying the sunshine through the window and had a lovely afternoon tea which really helped us wind down after a long journey. Being already familiar with Helmsley, having lived in this part of the world several years ago, we decided against a wander into the town (no more than two minutes' walk) and borrowed a film from reception. A note on the inventory of their DVDs on offer in the bedroom - whoever wrote it, I admire your creativity! We spent a good quarter of an hour reading all the descriptions and having a good chuckle.

Dinner was, in a word, superb. We had the tasting menu with wines to match and enjoyed every element of it. Service was smooth and unhurried and we were looked after well.

We woke up the next morning still full from the previous night's dinner, but went to see what was on offer for breakfast anyway. Rather than the 'Full English', I opted for a bacon ciabatta with home made brown sauce, which was just right for my appetite.

Last but not least, before our stay was complete we indulged in the Rassoul mud treatment at the Verbena spa, which until was definitely something I had never done before! It was really good however and being able to use the rest of the spa amenities once the mud treatment was over meant we didn't feel rushed either. The staff were pleasant and unassuming which made me feel more at ease in a predominantly female environment (and females who clearly had more idea what they were doing than I did).

Overall we had a great time and we will definitely look to come back for a future special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High St, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.