We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a relaxing weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa to your Saves list
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High St, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for a relaxing weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of my 30th birthday present. She had booked us on a 'food lovers' package which included afternoon tea on arrival, dinner and breakfast.

We arrived early in the afternoon and were greeted by the concierge who efficiently dealt with our bags and then parked the car for us (not something we would ever expect people to do but this is clearly the norm for them and made us feel a bit special from the beginning!). We were checked in promptly and shown round the public areas to help familiarise us with everything on offer. The pool was open and in use but despite this and it being a lovely sunny day we opted to pass on this occasion. The receptionist then showed us to our room and gave a brief overview of its amenities, including the TV which was very impressive to say the least!

Having unpacked, we went and sat in the lounge enjoying the sunshine through the window and had a lovely afternoon tea which really helped us wind down after a long journey. Being already familiar with Helmsley, having lived in this part of the world several years ago, we decided against a wander into the town (no more than two minutes' walk) and borrowed a film from reception. A note on the inventory of their DVDs on offer in the bedroom - whoever wrote it, I admire your creativity! We spent a good quarter of an hour reading all the descriptions and having a good chuckle.

Dinner was, in a word, superb. We had the tasting menu with wines to match and enjoyed every element of it. Service was smooth and unhurried and we were looked after well.

We woke up the next morning still full from the previous night's dinner, but went to see what was on offer for breakfast anyway. Rather than the 'Full English', I opted for a bacon ciabatta with home made brown sauce, which was just right for my appetite.

Last but not least, before our stay was complete we indulged in the Rassoul mud treatment at the Verbena spa, which until was definitely something I had never done before! It was really good however and being able to use the rest of the spa amenities once the mud treatment was over meant we didn't feel rushed either. The staff were pleasant and unassuming which made me feel more at ease in a predominantly female environment (and females who clearly had more idea what they were doing than I did).

Overall we had a great time and we will definitely look to come back for a future special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    212
    130
    84
    33
See reviews for
96
555
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was the second time we have stayed here at the Feversham Arms within a 6 month period and on both occasions it was lovely. We booked for one night on the food lovers package which includes afternoon tea, pre dinner champagne cocktail, 5 course meal, breakfast and use of the spa. The food is fantastic, although both my husband and I had to ask for an alternative to one of the courses as fois gras morally is not to eveyones liking. We booked a basic room on both occasions and on both occasions we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite, which are gorgeous. We made use of the hot tub and pool (yes even in March) and the indoor hot and cold steam room. We go away for nights in hotels on a regular basis and I have to say this is one of my favorites, I have noticed that the prices have increased quite considerably recently, the package we booked was £220 in March and is now £270 so that is quite a difference, only because of this we might have to think twice about booking again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goole
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed here for my anniversary in a pool /courtyard suite.

The hotel is very impressive and the staff are extremely attentive.

Valet parking on arrival, followed by booking in and a guided tour of our room. The room had a log burner, two bang and oulsfen tvs, piped music, bose ipod dock, beautiful bathroom, with bath and separtate shower / wet room with fantastic complimentary toiletries. The lounge area had plenty of reading material and it was really luxurious.

Breakfast in bed was served at no extra cost.

Outdoor hotel pool was lovely and warm and very clean.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The service was second to none. We really did feel pampered and fully attended to by the staff.

After ordering drinks in the bar, we decided to drink them by the outdoor swimming pool. The staff insisted on carring them out for us which was great, as I said earliar service from the staff is excellent and nothing is too much trouble.

In the middle of Helmsley there is loads to see and do. I would most reccomend the mouseman museum and white chalk horse in Kilburn, the shopping in Helmsley is good too.

For foodies out there the Star Pub at Harmome just 2 miles away is a mitchelin stared gastro pub. We ate lunch in this pub and were very impressed. The food was out of this world.

I would reccomend this hotel to friends and families alike.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

A truly five star welcome greeted us when we arrived at the FA last week. The ambiance of the entire hotel was wonderfully relaxing and calm, the room was superbly comfortable, although Americans would probably find it on the small side. The food in the restaurant was fabulous well presented, tasty and the portion sizes just right. The only thing not fabulous was the bill at the end of our stay, but then we didn't expect it to be cheap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Spent 2 nights at the Feversham as a surprise birthday treat for my Mother. Overall, we were very pleased with the welcome and service we received. The staff are pleasant and attentive. My husband, daughter and I stayed in one of the Classic suites in the old building (Room 10). Nice room but extremely hot as there is no air conditioning so make sure to ask for extra fans! My parents had the only deluxe king (Room 27). I would definitely recommend this room as it was probably larger then our suite. It was one of the newly refurbished rooms (complete with air conditioning!). It has a lovely view over the outdoor pool. Save your money and go for this rather than a suite.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings as part of our package and the food was excellent. The attire is smart casual so very relaxed.
We took advantage of the Verbena Spa which was wonderful. We all felt thoroughly revitalised. Make sure you book your treatments well in advance as they get booked up very quickly.
One bit of advice, make sure you read the guest information folder in your room as this details all those expensive extras that you might not be aware of. For example, £10 for an ice bucket if you are not ordering any of their wine / champagne. Also, they will charge corkage if you drink any alcohol not purchased from the Feversham. If you were thinking of brining your own bottle of champagne be discreet unless you want a £20 corkage bill!
All in all, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We visited the Feversham Arms in quaint Helmsley as part of our UK mini honeymoon on the 'food lovers' break. This included spa access, cream tea, 6 course taster menu and full English breakfast. Suite was stunning. Room even made up when in the restaurant for dinner. The taster menu was superb, all courses of excellent quality. We took advantage of the free room service breakfast which included some special food requests and again was of excellent quality. The room included quaint touches of needle, thread and pine cushion, DVD library etc. Service was good but not as friendly and as attentive as experienced in the remainder of our mini-moon. Treatments in the spa were also very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTFORDSHIRE
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed at The Feversham Arms for a night away from it all. Despite a couple of problems getting through on the phone, once we arrived it was all first class. The hotel has changed a lot since we stayed there about 9 years ago and it is now a fantastic place to stay.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The Spa and swimming pool are excellent and very relaxing, although the treatments are a little expensive, but a real treat.
The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean, although quite noisy once the church bells started the next morning, however not much they can do about that!
Particularly liked the fact that you are walked to your room by the receptionist who explains where everything is and notes down all your requirements.
Dinner was excellent. Good portion sizes and innovative combinations. Particularly liked the Scallops with Pork belly.
The service was friendly and professional from staff who had obviously been trained the correct way.
We had breakfast in our room which was first class and delivered on time and hot!
All in all a fantastic experience in a hotel which is very well managed. It is quite expensive but you leave feeling pampered and spoilt and wanting to return at the earliest possible moment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High St, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.