We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and total relaxation in a friendly environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Save Saved
You added Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High St, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Helmsley
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and total relaxation in a friendly environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Exceptionally high class place, food, wine, spa and accommodation, but staff and atmosphere are so friendly that its easy to relax straight away. Faultless!
Our room was in the older part of the hotel and was really quirky, but with every luxury you could wish for. The taster menu was a work of art, the staff informative but friendly about all the courses, and we had the wine to accompany each course which was a really good experience. The staff just go the extra mile to be helpful, but are very skilled at making you feel comfortable and at home, no 'standing on ceremony' even though everything is done at a very high standard. Ambience everywhere is lovely. Spa rooms are excellent, and the pool in a lovely setting. Already planning another stay...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    169
    102
    69
    22
See reviews for
74
458
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in a lovely, romantic poolside bungalow that was spacious and comfortable. In addition to the bedroom with a comfy king sized bed, there was a large tub and separate shower, a nice living room area and a desk space. Definitely suitable for a long stay. The terrace of the suite was particularly useful for private poolside lounging, as the public lounges by the pool deck were occupied quite early in the day. Poolside service is available from your private terrace as well. The staff provided a monitor and travel cot for our newborn, and there was also free wifi. We did not experience the spa, but we did indulge in the 5-course tasting menu with wine pairing at the award winning restaurant. It was absolutely worth every penny, especially the cheese board supplement. Having lived in NYC, I believe this rivals some of the best tasting menus around. The village of Helmsley, as one would expect, goes by quick and quaint. Half the shops are closed and the others are touristy, but its a nice walk and close to some good local sights. My recommendation is to go for a short walk, then lounge by the pool for most of the day drinking champagne ;-)

Room Tip: 3 bungalows by the pool. Get one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Promising looking hotel with pretensions to greatness. Our suite no. 31 was comfortable with a lovely view of the church but don't book it because the shower is broken. The staff were clearly aware of this before we checked in - it took ages for the room to be ready and there was no surprise when we complained that the shower wouldn't work. In fact we were told that the maintenance staff had said it was ok - clearly a sign of a known problem.
Apart from that the first night here was pleasant enough but this fell apart badly on the second night . The bar and restaurant seemed overwhelmed and chaotic and when we returned to our room at 11 pm there had been no turn down service and the staff had all gone home. This is not an inexpensive hotel and it needs to get its act together.

Room Tip: Don't book 31 . Shower broken
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel to celebrate my birthday and we had a lovely time.

From check in to check out the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Despite the fact we're a young couple we were treated with just as much respect as any other guest (which is VERY important). We stayed in a petite double room and it was very cute! The perfect size for us.

We had spa treatments included in our package and the spa was great. Staff were friendly and professional, we both thoroughly enjoyed our massages. The small things made all the difference! Like cleanser and toner in the changing room and lemon to go in the water!

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and the choice was good, the quality was great.

I would definitely revisit! The only negative is the church bells were extremely loud and went off every half an hour or so... but this didnt make our stay any less enjoyable and it wasn't the hotel's fault. It could have been a one off???

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice but way over priced. We enjoyed the stay but could have had a lot more elsewhere. The staff were very attentive and the room very comfortable, but it is only a 4 star and showing signs of wear. Carpets were threadbare and outdoor furniture needed attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my mother, sister and young son.

We've had a super time. Very relaxing. Helmsley is just gorgeous.

The hotel is always lovely and we were made to feel very welcome.

My little boy loved the outdoor pool, he is just two, and we played outside for two whole days.

Thank you to the spa for a lovely pampering experience and to the hotel staff for welcoming us.

My only niggles are the lack of gluten free food options and the slow service around the pool.

Otherwise a fabulous stay! Again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Use this hotel as a bolt hole for rest and relaxation. Perhaps surpisingly we don't use the Spa. Always a warm welcome, we enjoy the experience of different rooms/suites and the comfort is brilliant. Stayed 2 night in April, the food and service was top class. Also like the fact the the hotel acts as an art gallery which is fascinating. My only concern is that the cost is high and people should look out for offers. The renovations of the dining room area have made for a more cosy atmosphere than before. I would not suggest this hotel for young families, however - there is an outside pool but I do not think there is much else regards children's activities, altho it is a good base for getting around the area.

Room Tip: The original side of the hotel is on a road where there is traffic noise, so if not a sound sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High St, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Helmsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.