We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takeaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gepetto's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gepetto's
8 Bridge Street, Helmsley YO62 5BG, England
01439 770479
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 28 Restaurants in Helmsley
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stay in a great house in Helmsley, and therefore have a takeaway from Gepetto's, the food is always excellent, it is freshly cooked and piping hot. We have eaten in the restaurant and find the food is equally as good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Busy Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were advised to book a table and I am pleased that we did as this is a busy restaurant on a Saturday night.THe service was good,staff friendly,Pasta dishes were delicious and presented well.Good wine selection.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

It was a quiet autumnal Wednesday night when we visited. If felt like a regional restaurant in Italy would feel under similar circumstances - and none the worse for that. The food was freshly made: the pasta in particular was perfectly al dente and sauces were delicious. I was persuaded to round my meal off with home-made tiramisu and certainly didn't regret it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've lived in the area for 3 years and used to enjoy visiting Gepetto's, but the last couple of times we've visited we've been disappointed. The staff have become much less friendly and welcoming, and the food standards have dropped considerably. I ordered Saltinbocca di maiale on our last visit, and the pork was very undercooked. It's not the first time we've had a problem like this so I decided not to complain this time, and just not return. the menu hasn't changed in 3 years (apart from a few specials) and the food is often preprepared for reheating, making for dull (and salty) vegetables.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great little Italian...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great range of dishes and unlike some Italian restaurants the pasta dishes are fantastic...especially a special involving avocado, prawns, chilli and linguine. Yum!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gepetto's also viewed

 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Gepetto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gepetto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.