We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Helmsley, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
+44(0)1439 770 766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 29 Restaurants in Helmsley
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Penistone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here and it was gorgeous. Great food, good service and they even catered well for out 11month old daughter. Not the cheapest of places but well worth it

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food! Slightly bigger portions please...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

12 months ago we stayed at the hotel, which was absolutely brilliant. However the meal but we had at the time I felt was very average, and said so in my feedback. The manager of the hotel called to apologise and actually sent me and my wife a free dinner voucher, which wad pretty classy i thought. We have only just got around to using it.
We had the five course tasting menu last night. The starter was celeriac whip with choritzo. Very nice.
The next course was salt cod with paprika potato, which was not bad, but not good either. Easily the weakest part of the menu.
The next course of seabass was lovely, and very well executed. Perfectly and delicately cooked.
The final main dish of lamb was excellent, really very good and extremely enjoyable.
All of these courses have something a little different about them, and the chef certainly isn't afraid to have a few risks. For instance the lamb contained bits of orange, pine nuts and cheese. As I said it was very good
The dessert was a rhubarb dish which was good, not great, but pretty good.
The only main criticism I would really have is that the size of the portions are extremely small and both me and my wife were still peckish at the end of the meal. Having said that the wine was excellent, the service was really good, and the standard of food was also very good. Definitely recommended, as the entire building is also really beautiful.
You will probably need to pay extra £8.50 for the cheese course if you've got a big appetite.


    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Rooms cosy.Great location in the centre of Helmsley,helpful staff.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We went here for some wine its a beautiful hotel the drinks were expensive £8.50 large wine

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Service was super, but....
Food was ordinary. Nothing to write about......

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.