We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale to your Saves list
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value, great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed at the Wheatsheaf for three nights using vouchers collected from The Daily Telegraph, which meant we paid a very reasonable £56 pounds per night for a double room (four poster bed) with breakfast .
The room was clean and comfortable, although the shower was a tight squeeze to enter and wasn't very big.
The food in the bar was very good, possibly the tastiest sirloin steak we've had.
All in all, we would recommend this Inn, especially if you travel with dogs, as they are made most welcome.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    85
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
130
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We went here recently for a couple of nights to relax somewhere nice and peaceful. A small place, which suited us fine. Lovely little bar, exactly what a pub should be like! Ate here on the first night, good selection on the bar menu, enjoyed our meal very much. Good beers too! They have a little residents lounge with a couple of couches, great to relax in and have read a book while having a drink. Only complaint is that the floors, doors & bed in the room all seemed very creaky, surprising considering it is fairly new accommodation! Great breakfast, friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Plenty of safe parking available behind the pub.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is a country inn with 13 newish rooms in a small village in Wensleydale in a good position for touring Yorkshire Dales close to Aysgarth Falls. We paid £83 B&B for a double which was OK value.

We were pleasantly surprised with a nice modern, spacious room with all you need. Nice shower room with large shower. Only problem was the shower head slid down its pole & was held together with tape. We were told they knew about it & were waiting to get it repaired although a previous TripAdviser reviewer mentioned this in a review in October 2008 - although it could have been a different room of course.

Nice quiet location & comfortable bed & so we had a good nights sleep.

Breakfast very nice - excellent tasty bacon. Bar meal dinner was nice but nothing special although there were quite a lot of locals eating out on the Saturday night we were there so is popular locally. Friendly staff.

Car parking on site.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Our booking was via theTourist Info office in Richmond. The first impression of the hotel was the overbearing smell of burnt cooking oil when we entered the reception area. This smell remained all of the way to the fire door which led to our room
We were in the new part of the building. The room was relativeley spacious but there had been little or no consideration given to decoration. There was also a strange chair with electric cable dangling from it. We chose not to use this! Also there was a fold up bed stored against one of the walls. Would it not be better to store this away from the room and allow guests who require this facility to ask for it?
The bathroom was ok but the shower was held together with repair tape. Unfortunate because the fittings were clearly new.
The bar of this hotel is dominated by a large televison screen and the room generally lacked any atomosphere.
We ate our evening meal in the bar. Fairly typical bar food and I suspect the fish we had in our fish and chips was frozen and pre battered. Very disappointing and the stale smell of cooking oil is still with me
The breakfast was ok but nothing special. We will not be returning.

  • Disliked — Awful bar
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

Stayed at The Wheatsheaf for a long weekend in October. The owners and staff are all very friendly and the rooms are of a typical B&B standard and clean.

The food is fantastic: excellent meals are available - the food is tasty, and service is very quick even when the bar is busy. In addition, the pub serves a nice selection of beers.

Overall, a very pleasant stay in a quiet and relaxing location.

  • Liked — Great food.
  • Disliked — Avoid Sunday nights in the restaurant - if the ladies' darts team are in, they'll certainly let you know it's their pub even if you haven't finished your meal!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't forget your antihistamines if you're allergic to dogs.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Address: Main Street, Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carperby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is a traditional, family run inn set in the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Walker and dog friendly, the Wheatsheaf is on a spectacular walking route between the historic Bolton Castle (where Mary Queen of Scots was kept captive in 1568)and the world famous Aysgarth Falls. The Wheatsheaf was also where Alf White (more famously known as the vet and author James Herriot) and his wife had their honeymoon in 1941. Featuring real ales, log fires, and good food, the Wheatsheaf prides itself on its welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Hotel Carperby
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant And Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.