We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale to your Saves list
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is our second visit to the Wheatsheaf & it was another relaxing stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. It was my wifes birthday & we had travelled with a couple of friends & decided we would not move from in front of the log fire in the bar all day. We started off with ham sandwiches all round consisted of some lovely local ham then onto the bar! The Black Sheep bitter was on top form & after a couple of hours of getting beat at dominos by the girls we decided to concede & order some food. The steaks were cooked to perfection & the Steak & bacon pie was delicious, as was the sticky toffee pudding! After a long day/night we retreated to our well appointed rooms for some well earned rest. Breakfast in the morning was top notch & all in all a grest stay. Next time we have a free weekend when we just want to sit back & relax we'll be heading back to the Wheatsheaf.

Room Tip: Try the sticky toffe pudding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    79
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Landed with our friends at the Wheatsheaf Inn in the pouring rain,we didnt care,all we were bothered about was what beer are we going to order. The outside door led us directly into a lovely lounge with log burning fire well impressed,warm and cosy.CHeckin was quick and efficient. Our rooms were big and spacious,with large double shower,all very clean.The bar and pub areas are great,nice fire and more cosy corners great atmosphere.We were staying here for 2 nights on a voucher deal at £89 per couple bed and breakfast with a free bottle of wine which we thought was good value.We ordered a meal on the first night but was disapointed to find that most of the food was frozen food not home cooked fresh food.When i pointed out to the owners that frozen chips,and a portion of frozen onion rings at £3.50 was a bit steep they explained that most of their customers are not bothered.The moral of this story is,if you like fresh food eat somewhere else.The breakfast next morning was lovey,nothing to complain about ,some people may notice that there were no beans or black pudding on the breakfast but i didnt mind.Both me and my friends had trouble with our showers,mine running hot then cold when ever it liked and his being electronic needed resetting everytime he altered the temperature.The negative points raised in this review did not spoil our break in the dales at this beautiful property,i would not hesitate to book again.Hope my comments are helpful and thankyou for an enjoyable stay. Steve and friends from Leeds.

Room Tip: room 12 quiet at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night at the Wheatsheaf and we were very Dissapointed, we have stayed before, last year and it was much better. What really let it down was the evening meal, I had duck, which is usually my favourite, but it had been deep fried and was awful, nearly inedible, another of our group had rainbow trout, which she described as 'tough', and not how it should be. The steak and the chille con carne were described as 'OK'. The rooms were ok nothing special but we did have a dog with us so maybe that's why. I did wonder if the inn has new management. I cannot fault the staff however who were pleasant but we won't be going back again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked this hotel on line and didn't bother to check any reviews as I was in a hurry. It was more than I expected with very good management, clean and tidy rooms, wifi downstairs and good home cooked food. The price was more than reasonable and if I'm in the area again I will most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a little bit of wifi from downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights stay at The Wheatsheaf with friends our rooms were a a very nice, we had a very enjoyable stay, great for walking & very close to Ayesgarth Falls, the staff are very friendly nothing was to much trouble, excellent breakfast and good evening meal menue. Hope you do well girls & families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just returned from two nights at The Wheatsheaf with friends, using a KGB voucher. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We aren't walkers, but enjoyed a drive through beautiful countryside, stopping to let sheep and two lots of cattle cross roads! Warm and comfortable in all areas, sitting in front of the wood burning fire in the lounge was very relaxing. We spent a lovely hour chatting to three other visitors there! The staff very friendly. Breakfasts were great. Would definitely recommend a break here.
(Slightest criticism, pillows in our room could do with replacing!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently enjoyed a two night stay at The Wheatsheaf, on a weekend when the weather really turned on us - cold, windy and heavy rain. Thank goodness we were at The Wheatsheaf - we didn't mind the weather at all.

The pub is very attractive, clean, warm and friendly. We ate there both nights and although the menu is not extensive this means that what they do they do very well. We did get to Bolton Castle before the weather turned on us, but not the Falls, so we fully intend returning. It's good to know somewhere in such beautiful surroundings where you know you will have a lovely time whatever the British weather.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Address: Main Street, Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carperby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carperby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf is a traditional, family run inn set in the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Walker and dog friendly, the Wheatsheaf is on a spectacular walking route between the historic Bolton Castle (where Mary Queen of Scots was kept captive in 1568)and the world famous Aysgarth Falls. The Wheatsheaf was also where Alf White (more famously known as the vet and author James Herriot) and his wife had their honeymoon in 1941. Featuring real ales, log fires, and good food, the Wheatsheaf prides itself on its welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Hotel Carperby
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant And Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.