We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theobalds Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Theobalds Park Hotel to your Saves list
Theobalds Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt EN7 5HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheshunt
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

It is a little hard to find, the sat nav helps!
A very impressive building.Yes I agree with others it is into the conference/ training scene, but as we were there over a weekend, the hotel was pretty quiet.
We stayed in the old part of the hotel. The room was very good, not your standard box shape. High ceilings, and a very good standard of decor. The view to the rear was surprisingly rural, the M25 is there but not on top of you.
I restaurant is small, and a little plain, compared to the old parts of the building. The food and service were very good, the wine and drinks as ever a little too expensive, but it goes with the rating.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would certainly recommend this hotel for a weekend retreat, near to London.

  • Liked — Stlye and room quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    140
    102
    60
    32
See reviews for
64
162
21
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mid Lincs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at Theobalds Park Hotel for one night and found it very good. The staff were friendly. Rooms very clean and the breakfast was excellent. The building looks stately and the grounds are beautiful. We would certainly book to go there again.

  • Liked — The setting.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

Stayed for one night on business locally. Wish I hadn't. It was very impersonnel and because of an event being held, very noisy. Around 2.00am a football was being kicked up and down the main staircase which helped! The hotel is very sprawling with no lifts. I was left to find my way past the bar, along past the kitchens, through several hallways up a further set of stairs and finally reached the room. A woman on my own with a case, I would have appreciated some help. It was also intimidating past the bar area. I did not bother with breakfast as it was too far to walk down and back in time to leave at 7.00am. Breakfast is only served from 7.30am anyway, and there is no room service. Large, lovely grounds, but if there is a conference being held, forget it! Will stay elsewhere in future.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Service and commitment to individuals as well as conference guests
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham Berks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We just celebrated New Year at Theobalds Park at a murder mystery event. The hotel has an old part shown on the official photo with a new building attached to it. It is a clean modern hotel and the rooms were adequate. The lighting is rather dim in the rooms which I personally find annoying. There are free coffee stations situated around the hotel - a great touch. Smoking is allowed in one bar only, unfortunately our event was right next to that bar. Staff were friendly but not very well organised at breakfast but it was New Years day so perhaps I should let them off. The hotel has leisure facilites which we didn't use but they looked nice. Food was excellent. It looks like the hotel specialises in business conferences as the breakfast normally frinishes at 9am and normal check out time is also 9am which is a bit early if you are looking for a leisure stay. (There was a special late breakfast and check out for New Year thank goodness!) Anyway this is a very nice hotel with beautiful grounds and the friendly staff did their best. The old part of the hotel has beautifully renovated decorative ceilings and mosaic floors and we loved the peculiar looking lion statues at the entrance.

  • Liked — Fresh contemporary design and free coffee
  • Disliked — Smoky bar
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Theobalds Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theobalds Park Hotel

Address: Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt EN7 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Cheshunt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheshunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Theobalds Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Theobalds Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theobalds Park Hertfordshire
Hotel Theobalds Park
Theobalds Park Hotel Cheshunt, Hertfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theobalds Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.