We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Party Heaven!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of anstey grove barn

anstey grove barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buntingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
anstey grove barn
the grove | anstey, Buntingford sg9 0bj, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Buntingford B&B and Inns
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hen Party Heaven!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have just returned from this excellent barn where we held my sisters hen party. The barn is of a very hgh standard and works very well as a self catering venue for a large party. There was 12 of us in total and the barn had plenty of space and never felt overcrowded. It is beautiful, quiet and private, with a garden and outside seating to enjoy the fresh air. Each roon had lovely views and is nicely decorated. the under floor heating was also an unxepected bonus. The owners are lovely and are more than willing to help with anything, both prior to arrival and during your stay. We hired a mini bus into cambridge for punting and a picnic. Which was great fun. I would recomend Butlers car services, and Granta Punting Company for anyone wanting to do something similar.

I would reccomend Anstey Grove Barn to anyone looking for a large self catering venue of a high standard.

Thank you Andrew and Alice for the use of your beautiful barn.It made a special weekend even more special.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but the one with the four poster bed is very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed as a group of friends using the whole barn. The place was fantastic, well maintained and clean. I have stayed in many '4 star' places far worse than this! The only small problem is that one bedroom is located on the ground floor next to the kitchen and with the thin internal walls this means you wake up when everyone else does!

Owner was also very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. Highly recommended place for a weekend away.

Room Tip: if you want to sleep in then get the rooms on the opposite side from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Had a great stay with a surprise rain free weekend! The barn has been modernsied to a very high standard and is a very clean, warm and pleasant place to stay. The quiet relaxed setting is ideal for a break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Really couldn't fault this place. Marvellous airy barn conversion for the exclusive use of B&B customers. The downstairs area has a spacious, comfortable sitting/dining section, with tea, coffee and home-made biscuits laid out. The bedrooms were cosy and very comfy. I don't usually sleep well away from home but slept like a top here. The breakfasts were top notch with warm rhubarb compote, freshly pulled from the garden, and locally-sourced sausages, bacon etc. The owners are very friendly and welconing, and can't do enough to help. We plan to stay here again when we travel across country on holiday to Suffolk. If you are in the area, or perhaps looking for somewhere to stay close to Stansted airport, or even Cambridge, I really don't believe you'll find any better anywhere. Forget the chains - this is the sort of place we want!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Stayed here at the end of January with my partner. The barn is beautiful and with the drive to it - you really do get a good look at how the other half live. Big barns which footballers would live in are around the surrounding area and fields. But aprt from that there really is nothing to do unless you drive into town or even the local pub is a good 5 minute drive. The barn itself is wonderful and the people that own it are very friendly and nothing seems to much bother for them both.
You have your own frontdoor key so you can really come and go as you please.
Breakfast was lovely and even me being a vegetarian was no bother for the owner.
Rooms are lovely and you can just drift away with the slow pace of life here. Made a real change to the city life.
Can not fault this place but wish the town or at least the local pub were a little closer as not everybody would want to drive to get anywhere.
Recommend this place if you really want a nice chilled out weekend away from the hustle of everyday life.
Beautiful place with lovely owners.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We booked the whole barn for a weekend to accommodate family and friends for our wedding and it really helped to make the event special. The barn has been carefully restored to an outstanding level of attention with some aspects being completed by the owner by hand. The barn is light and airy, with exposed brick and solid timber, with all rooms en-suite and finished to a very high standard. The beds were the most comfortable I've slept in outside of my own home and the master bedroom with four poster bed, also comes with a roll top bath with claw feet. Top quality handwash, shower gel etc completed the picture. Andrew and Alice have done an amazing job and created some first class accommodation, backed by a very warm welcome and a very tasty breakfast indeed (the locally sourced sausages are delicious and bacon outstanding).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to anstey grove barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about anstey grove barn

Address: the grove | anstey, Buntingford sg9 0bj, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Buntingford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Buntingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic converted barn in rural hertfordshire,less than 1 hr from london, 30 mins from cambridge, hertford. also available for self catering on a full barn basis ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage anstey grove barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added anstey grove barn to your Saves list