We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Acorn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Acorn Inn to your Saves list
The Acorn Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   28 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Evershot B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Midweek night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

With a voucher for long service from work we decided to stay and eat here even though it's only 15 miles away from where we live
Really old place with character -the upstairs room floor is on a slope like most really old places
We were upgraded to the four poster however I would not spend the money they would have asked for for this room £144 I believe
It was really nice to be shown to the room with free bottled water and tea etc
The meal was really well presented however the menu on this occasion too limited ie one of us has fish and chips whilst it was really nice there wasn't enough to grab you're taste buds
Service superb
Breakfast menu was great and service equal to the evening

Nice polite staff and friendly

I would go again for a meal but wouldn't recommend for a night stay as over priced rooms

Room Tip: Get a free upgrade as the four poster was nice would you wouldn't pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    51
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
133
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went for a corporate dinner to The Acorn Inn. We were very positively surprised by interiors, quality of food and staff. Wine list was appropriate too. If malbec were served 5C colder this would be an "excellent" review. Overall can recommend it as a lovely place with good food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice welcome, good real ale & very nice food.
We had traditional roasts - tender beef & good quality pork (although can't remember if it quite met our "quality & quantity of crackling" standard as set by our own golf club.
Bill not too bad for the quality of venue & food £60 per couple inc drinks

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Acorn Inn on 16th October, following recent stays in other Red Carnation properties. We enjoyed a very good meal in the restaurant - we didn't go for the £30/head deal which gives one three courses from the menu, as we weren't that hungry but instead chose just two courses. Delicious food, served in a very pleasant dining room.
We were allocated Silverthorn room, with a four poster bed. The room was fine, but unfortunately on the front of the building, and despite Evershot being a small village, far from anywhere, we had quite a disturbed night, with cars going past.
Breakfast was very good.
Overall a nice stay, but shame about the traffic noise.
Berkshire jpb

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from overlooking the road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Pretty location and just as pretty traditional pub ,go when the locals are playing skittles ,Thurs and Fri's I think.
Good quality locally produced food ,a step above pub grub served by friendly staff . Big choice of innovative wines.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved our stay at The Acorn Inn in Evershot and were thoroughly spoilt from the beginning to the end of our stay. Alex, Jack and all of the staff made us very welcome and we look forward to returning back there ASAP!

We were lucky enough to stay in the ‘Evershot Suite’ which is the loft suite with interesting views of the rooftop. It has a double bedroom, a single bedroom, a sitting room and large bathroom with bath and separate shower… The suite was very clean and each room had interesting décor.

We enjoyed a walk from Evershot to Melbury Park, a visit to Burton Bradstock beach cafe, and a day at West Bay. This is a great place to be based to discover the surrounding area including Charmouth, Chesil Beach and monkey world! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Offers a bit more than just a country pub. Excellent breakfast and decent size, well furnished clean room. Part of the group which owns some more expensive hotels in the area so they seemed to be on top of their game. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Acorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acorn Inn

Address: 28 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Acorn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of beautiful West Dorset and immortalised as the 'Sow and Acorn' in Thomas Hardy's Tess of the d'Urbervilles', the delightful 16th century Acorn inn is the perfect English country setting. Just over 2 hours drive from London, West Dorset is steeped in history and has many areas of outstanding natural beauty including mile upon mile of stunning coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Acorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Acorn Hotel Evershot
The Acorn Inn Evershot, Dorset, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Acorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.