We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn in pretty village of ever shot. Welcoming friendly and lovely home cooked food. Definitely return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Acorn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Acorn Inn to your Saves list
The Acorn Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   28 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Evershot B&B and Inns
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn in pretty village of ever shot. Welcoming friendly and lovely home cooked food. Definitely return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of our stay here. Very clean and comfortable rooms with all mod cons. Evening meal and breakfast beautifully cooked and good choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, General Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Julie thank you so much for your lovely review of the Acorn Inn. We are so proud of all of our staff so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on them. We hope to see you again very soon, best, Alex and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    51
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
134
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Looking back over my Trip Advisor reviews it seems that I rarely award fewer than 4 stars. I don't think that this is because I am easily pleased, but rather because we take a bit of time to research where we eat and/or stay so it is ever likely to be the case that we are pleased. This was certainly the case with The Acorn.

We were staying close by but decided to spend one of our Christmas-New Year holiday evenings eating out. The Acorn looked great on the website, and so it proved to be.

We were a party of 6 including my octogenarian mother and a full complement of our own kids aged between 17 and 24. Not an easy group to please, but The Acorn managed to do this with aplomb. The ambience is pubby and friendly. Great! The food is a cut above. Sufficient time has passed to mean that I can't remember exactly what we all had to eat, but I can remember that everyone was suitably impressed and tucked in with relish. The wine list too was good and particularly strong on South Africans.

Service was friendly and speedy and the 'damage' at the end of the evening did not feel too catastrophic (although I forget how costly it can be eating out when you are more than a couple)!

We have noted down The Acorn as a place that we would like to return to and, perhaps, to stay for a weekend. The company that owns the pub also has another hotel in the village, so there will be good opportunities for restaurant swaps.

Good luck to The Acorn. It deserves to do well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, General Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
What a brilliant review; thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiance with us. Thank you also for noticing our new website, we are so proud of it! Summer Lodge is our sister hotel in the village; as well as a great restaurant they also have a fabulous spa so staying in Evershot can offer so many facilities for a relaxing weekend. We are currently offering 3 nights for the price of 2 until 29th March so now is a perfect time to book!
We hope to welcome you back soon, very best, Alex and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton Uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a great 5 night stay. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed bed breakfast and evening meal and every meal was excellent. We only booked a double room and room was quite small, our only complaint was the shower was completely hopeless, water only luke warm and no power, took forever to rinse hair!! The plumbing was noisey and toilet blocked twice and we only put tissue paper down!!! Would recommend management try shower for themselves!!

It is a great location for visiting the coast line and country side, would definitely go again!! Weather was not the best but the Inn was so relaxing it didn't matter!! Loved it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, General Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you found your stay to be both enjoyable and relaxing. We are extremely proud of the high standards of our kitchen and the fact that you loved the food is very gratifying. The character filled 16th century architecture does dictate that our standard rooms are a little compact but all contain luxurious furnishings, linen & fast modern technology. Jack & I do daily room checks & weekly room inspections so I was very sorry to hear about the thermostat and loo. We do have an excellent maintenance team who would have been delighted to fix these issues at the time. I am pleased that it did not detract from your stay and that you found the Acorn, and our staff, to be a warm, friendly and hospitable. We hope to welcome you back to the Acorn on another occasion.
Best regards Jack and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of this place. The restaurant provides top quality food at reasonable prices. The service is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. The bar is very traditionally English with every whisky ever produced hanging above it. It has the feel of a true English country pub about it and very Dorset.

The hotel rooms are charming and a good size and again well priced. I will recommend the Acorn Inn to anyone who requires food or accommodation in West Dorset. We will most definitely be back :)

Ross Moore
The English Catering Company

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, General Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you both so much for such a lovely review. Jack is so pleased that you like all of his carefully chosen single malts! We now have over 100! It is great that you come to the Acorn so regularly and love it so much, thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to seeing you very soon. Best, Alex & Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetnole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Really good food. lovely friendly staff who were really helpful, would recommend very highly, really good choice of wines and beers, and there was a good choice on the menu, and good value the mains only costing £10.95

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, General Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words; we are so pleased that you enjoyed your sunday lunch with us and we hope to welcome you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife treated me to a surprise night away at the acorn inn. The room was very nice complete with four poster bed. The food was excellent especially the pheasant and the breakfast, the real ales were great too. The staff were very helpful and attentive. I would highly recommend this hotel for a great weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. I have passed your comments onto our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Our real ales change weekly so there will be even more choices when you return! Very best for the festive season, Jack & Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

They stop serving lunch at 2 pm, and we arrived at about 10 minutes past, but they said they could do us sandwiches, which was good of them. The fillings in the sandwiches were very generous, but all four of us felt that the bread was dry and slightly stale, which was a disappointment. They advertise that the bread used in the inn is from the village bakery, so I don't know if that is a reflection on them or the inn! The village is picture-book beautiful, and the inn is very charming, and we would certainly return to give them another chance - and arrive earlier the next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Acorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acorn Inn

Address: 28 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Acorn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of beautiful West Dorset and immortalised as the 'Sow and Acorn' in Thomas Hardy's Tess of the d'Urbervilles', the delightful 16th century Acorn inn is the perfect English country setting. Just over 2 hours drive from London, West Dorset is steeped in history and has many areas of outstanding natural beauty including mile upon mile of stunning coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Acorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Acorn Hotel Evershot
The Acorn Inn Evershot, Dorset, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Acorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.