We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Wine and very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Lodge to your Saves list
Summer Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Offer
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Wine and very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed for a few days with our young daughter, as this is part of England we haven’t explored that much. We booked one of the small two bedroom cottages which were excellent and full of character, in the grounds of the hotel. The pool and gym were both small but excellent and spotlessly clean. There was also a small play area for children. This is an excellent hotel, with great staff, in a tranquil setting that we all really enjoyed.
The quality of the food, wine and service were all first rate although the decoration in the restaurant is a bit kitsch.
If you are looking for a great base to explore the Wessex country side and coast, with wonderful service and food, then you should stay here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    32
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
67
295
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We spent a blissful week at Summer Lodge earlier this month. We have stayed in many wonderful hotels around the world and this is one of the best.

Summer Lodge is on the edge of the picturesque village of Evershot, surrounded by beautiful gardens amid attractive rolling countryside. The hotel is elegantly furnished and decorated and the rooms very comfortable. We stayed in a ground floor suite in the coach house, a few yards walk from the main building - as well as a spacious bedroom and bathroom, we had a small sitting room in a conservatory and a small private walled garden, complete with sun loungers. My only criticisms of the suite are that the bathroom had no separate shower cubicle and, despite the heatwave, and in the name of saving the environment, they switched off the air conditioning every time they serviced the room, leaving it hot and stuffy on our return.

The hotel has an excellent indoor swimming pool which I used before breakfast each day - with one exception, I had it to myself.

The restaurant is superb. Dinner (£60 a head if booked on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast basis) is 3 courses, with 5 or 6 options for each course. The chef uses mainly local ingredients (his signature dish of Dorset Spring lamb with an amazing shepherd's pie is particularly good). We ate most things on the menu during our stay and enjoyed them all. Like most Michelin starred restaurants, dinner included a choice of unusual breads, canapes, an amuse bouche and a pre-dessert, all delicious. Presentation is particularly strong. The extensive wine list includes plenty undre £50 a bottle.

Breakfast is equally special with freshly squeezed orange juice, Dorset cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, superb croissants and danish pastries, smoked salmon and hot food cooked to order (I loved their Eggs Benedict) and, when the weather was warm, we were able to have it on the terrace.

At £25, their 3 course Sunday lunch (with canapes and an amuse bouche) is exceptional value, and many locals were there to take advantage of it.

If you are staying more than a couple of nights, an alternative is to eat at their nearby pub, The Acorn Inn, which was very good, if rather airless on a hot evening, and much cheaper. It takes only a minute or two to walk there.

Despite all the other superlatives,the best thing about Summer Lodge is the people, whether in the restaurant, at the front desk or the excellent twice daily servicing of the room. Without exception, they were charming and delivered a very high standard of personal service - everyone seemed to know our names.

We can't recommend Summer Lodge too highly. Not cheap,but value for money if you want somewhere special - the perfect place for a luxurious staycation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Exceptional place. Check out the spa as well, well worth it!

The food and service was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

A 3 night stay and a consistently high standard throughout. The attention of staff was exceptional, particularly in the dining room. Food quality was superb.

This is also a great spot for exploring the Dorset coastline.
We would particularly recomment Nat Trust site at Studland.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We have been going to SL for about 4 years now and I can honestly say we have never had cause to complain about anything. Don't get me wrong - I love a good moan and as my husband would testify, I think this is the only hotel we have stayed at where we HAVEN"T changed rooms. Don't go to Summer Lodge if you like an action packed weekend with a lively bar, Do go to Summer Lodge for a relaxing break - what a country hotel should be. The staff are marvelous, (they all know your name) especially Eric the sommelier, and the manager Charles is warm and charming.
Over all SL is not a cheap weekend, but I promise you will leave there relaxed and happy with the world.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

This was my first stay at Summer Lodge, and what a weekend to remember. We took a family friend to celebrate his 60th birthday; from the time we drove up the drive to our departure the service was excellent. The hotel requested likes, dislikes and treated us to our choice of music and reading materials in our rooms. The food was amongst the best I have ever tasted and the chef deserves a Michelin star, both sommeliers helped us select some fine wines which complemented our choice of cuisine and were not to expensive. The service and welcome by all staff was great without being over the top. Every time we left our room, we came back to find it restocked, tidied, or cleaned, this was unobtrusive and the small personal touches impressed everyone. The pool and spa are an excellent added extra. I hope to visit again

  • Liked — Food and great service.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Our second stay at summer lodge was even better than our first which celebrated a wedding anniversary.
This time we were joined by family to celebrate a 60th birthday.
The hotel requested our different preferences, likes, dislikes and treated us to our choice of music and reading materials. we deliberately chose a different room as they are all unique, all were excellent.
The cuisine was amongst the best I have ever tasted and the chef deserves a Michelin star.
The service and welcome by all staff was exemplary without being intrusive.
Both sommeliers were professional and enabled us to choose appropriate wine that was delicious and not frighteningly expensive.
Every time we left our room, we came back to find it restocked, tidied, or cleaned. This was unobtrusive and the light personal touches impressed everyone.
The pool was an excellent added extra. The gardens are well tended and the location charming.
We will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.