We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! - great food and excellent hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bere Regis
Newcastle-under-lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! - great food and excellent hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate at the Royal Oak on Friday 13th and Saturday 14th Dec. what a lovely place. There were functions being held on both nights but neither had an impact on the service in the main bar. The menu is excellent with plenty of choice to suit all tastes and is extremely well priced. All the produce served is locally sourced and is if the highest quality. Janette and her staff are very welcoming and friendly. I always think that the sign of a good pub us if the locals use it and they most certainly do not only to drink but dine. I must admit that Janette and Giles are friends of ours but as soon as they have finished their room refurbishments we will be returning to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ilminster
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stopped for lunch to break a journey and we were very impressed. Great pub with excellent food at a very reasonable price and friendly service. Freshest baguettes we have tasted for a long time! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a family run pub at the cross roads in the middle of Bere Regis. It is quite an imposing building. A Grade II listed, 16th century coaching inn. The understated entrance has a few steps leading to the street or a few more steps down to the car park. We stopped for a lunchtime meal with an elderly relative in tow who struggled a little with the access. However once inside we were made very welcome by the friendly staff all of whom seemed to be local.
The bar and dining area had wooden floors which tended to be a little noisy especially with a large number of people. However we arrived at about 1.30pm and the throng left shortly afterwards. The menu was displayed on a large board in the pub. It had a varied range with adequate choice for all palettes, even vegetarian choices. We were served quite promptly again with enthusiasm and candour. There was a good salad garnish with all of the dishes which made them very presentable. I would describe the food as good wholesome pub grub which was probably prepared from a freezer. The irresistible choice of desert made mouths water nor did they disappoint.
This is a great place for a family pub lunch or evening meal. Not pretentious, and not a place you would expect to find fine dining but a thoroughly friendly and welcoming hostelry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived at The Royal Oak for a 3 night stay wed-fri night incl. down from Surrey 18 to 21 Sept 2013. Found the bedroom we had been allocated to be immaculate and nice and snug (Budmouth - Room 4 - double with en suite.) Janette (landlady) works really hard and nothing is too much trouble for her (most accommodating/helpful.) The English breakfast is delish as are the evening meals in the bar. Went to nearby Bovington Tank Museum and Monkey World ( a great base for both places) and also a good base for Poole. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Juls & Jeremy - Surrey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Oak on many occasions now and enjoy it more every time. The food is freshly prepared and locally sourced and the kitchen makes and prepares the best burger I have ever tasted. We have stayed in the double and king-size rooms. They have all been immaculately clean, well stocked, with towels, shampoo and shower gel, tea, coffee and biscuits and have the sort of throws and lamps that you want to take home. The bar is airy, warm and friendly and has a good mix of locals and tourists. I, personally, love the stable bar, which is available for hire (good oh!) and opens onto a gorgeous walled courtyard filled with scented potted plants and candle lit tables. There is a big garden with herbaceous boarders at the back and another walled courtyard. The hotel's proximity to the beautiful Lulworth Cove, Studland Bay and Monkey World makes it a perfect base for a trip around some of the most beautiful and popular parts of Dorset. This year we stayed there to go to the Dorset Steam Fair who's site is a very short trip down the road, so there was no sitting in traffic with bored smalls. Visit the Royal Oak they'll make you so welcome and you will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place to stay. Very nice rooms and good food. We have stayed there a couple of times and not only for it's closeness to Monkey World. A very good menu and reasonably priced and an excellent breakfast to start your day. Couldn't fault in any way

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Second visit to this pub. The meals from the board were tempting but we only wanted a light lunch. Good selection of baguettes served with side salad and a few chips. Naughty but nice. We sat in a lovely enclosed patio on a lower level; it was a real sun trap. There is another patio on a higher level and a large garden. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Address: West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bere Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Bere Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.