We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Nice Place to Stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bere Regis
Weston on the Green, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a Nice Place to Stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent a few days here. The accomadation was first class - clean, spacious, well equipped, and quiet. The staff were terrific, and very friendly. The food was first class - especially the 'full English' - I particularly liked the mushrooms! The bar (this is a pub with B&B) was rather good, a nice take on a traditional village pub. No piped music to shout over, and well stocked with locals enjoying a drink - always a good sign I think.

Shortcomings? Not many....if I'm really picky, I might suggest guest allocated parking in the car park, but that is trivial.

All in all? Great value for money, a very good all round experience. Would I visit again? You bet cha!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived late afternoon and walked into a not very busy bar (there is no reception area). Several people turned to stare at us and the person behind the bar didn't acknowledge us. She proceeded to serve other customers before finally asking what we wanted - bit obvious really as we had suitcase in hand! There was no 'welcome' at all, simply shown to our room and left. We didn't try the food as it looked completely uninspiring, particularly for veggies. The room was comfortable enough (after 15 minutes spent setting up the TV and digibox) but the shower was useless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you found the staff to be "Distinctly Unfriendly" this is not a comment we have had before! I do believe it is normal practice to serve each customer in turn. You are right, we do not have a reception area but after check in you do have a key for the other front door so you do not have to come in through the bar. As for the menu I can not see how you can judge the menu from a black board when you never ate here. The shower head in the room has now been changed and I wish you had said it was not working before you left, this is a hard water area and although we descale frequently the shower heads do reach a point where they need to be replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a Lovely pub. We arrived at 7pm and had a nice meal in the garden from a menu with a lot of good choices. Very comfortable room, we wanted a double room but due to a last minute booking only a twin was available. The single beds were very comfy and a good size. Nice lot of tea and biscuits in the room. The church bells softly chiming was a nice start to the day. The breakfast service is very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. All in all a very nice over night stay to break our journey up. We will definitely be using again.

Room Tip: Wanted a double but only had a twin left however the beds are a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Really pleased you had a nice stay thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Only stayed for two nights and would have liked longer. We had the large room and it was much larger and more comfortable than any of the 'highly rated' B & Bs we have stayed in over the years. It was nice to have a big comfy sofa to watch a bit of TV before turning in. Could have had a better shower - but the bath / shower was perfectly adequate and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

Janette and husband (sorry forgotten name) have only been there six months and are working hard on planting in the garden and building up the place. There are three different seating areas outside and I did like the long garden where you could make the most of the evening sun.

We had dinner there one night (we both had steak) and it was good food at a very reasonable price. The English breakfast was certainly one of the best we have found when eating out - they did not have a menu but Janette will be happy to make different requests.

All in all we would definitly recommend The Royal Oak - great location for visiting Dorset and very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J W, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We are really pleased you had a great stay and thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were en route to Portsmouth having been in, rather near Bridport in Dorset. It was lunchtime and were motoring along the A35 and getting hungry. Our first attempt to find a nice pub took us off route to Briantspuddle, a beautiful village,thatched roofs ...but no pub? How can that be? A kindly and sympathetic villager directed us to Bere Regis some 4 or 5 miles away where we found the Drax Arms. However, at 2.05pm we were told sorry the kitchen is closed. Our quest was not to be denied, we drove a further 2-300 yards to the Royal Oak and was delighted to find they serve food to 4pm on a Sunday.

I was further delighted to find they also serve Cornwall's Doombar beer amongst several others

The food was good, OK it was good enough but not great, not good enough to go out of the way to find the place solely for the food. We enjoyed our lunch, filled our stomachs and were on our way again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited with the family on a couple of occassions whilst staying near by. There is a good selection of beers and has a varied menu. The first time we ate was for an evening meal, we had a good spread from the menu as there is six of us in total.

All the meals arrived in good time, were piping hot and were cooked to perfection, The pork loin was good as was the hunters chicken and both the vegetarian and meat lasagnia's.

The second time we visited was for a lunchtime snack and we had a further 2 members of the family in our party and we had some baguetts and some from the main menus incluing the steak. All were excellent - home cooked ham, freshing grilled chicken and all at a very reasonable price. I think i speak for all when i say i would definatly recommend.

A clean, friendly and welcoming local with plenty of outside space a very nice local pub with good food and friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and myself returned from a day-trip to Weymouth and stopped of at the Royal Oak for a bite. My wife had the pork loin chop and i had the steak and both were spot on. Steak cooked perfect med rare and and the green peppercorn sauce with the chop was so nice i asked for a portion for myself. Nice food for a reasonable price. With a couple of drinks and coffee under £30.
(Only negative for me was the garden is next to a road with a bit of traffic so a bit noisy)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Address: West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bere Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Bere Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.