We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in a convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
The Old Mill | West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bere Regis B&B and Inns
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B in a convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Old Mill has been very skilfully converted to a B&B providing good sized rooms fitted with quality furnishings. My bathroom was clean and modern, with good water pressure from the shower, which often lets down other establishments. Breakfast was very good, and the host most welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
38
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Recently stayed for 1 night at the Old Mill. Great welcome from the owner. Modern, spotlessly clean room with good facilities.

Walking distance to a good pub for dinner.

Breakfast room was fab, especially liked the glass floor showing the mill. Breakfast itself was plentiful and delicious.

Upon checkout David was extremely helpful providing excellent local knowledge to help in our search for a new home in Dorset. We will definitely stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: We booked last minute and stayed in a room at the top of the house, it was rather hot overnight so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We received a warm welcome with an air of informality that belies the organisation and attention to detail that must go into such excellent provision. A good location for visiting the Dorset Downs, Wimborne Minster and the RSPB reserve at Arne.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Once again we were made to feel very welcome by the whole family including Jenson and his mum and sister who happened to be visiting! Wonderful room with great facilities, fabulous breakfasts especially the eggy bread cooked to order. A really good central point for visiting the local attractions and surrounding towns. We enjoyed 2 fabulous meals at The Drax Arms which we would highly recommend to anybody. Thankyou David and Lorna for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Why we are so happy with this place:

- Service starts already at home, where Davids Dad called me serveral times to make sure, I got
all emails and even called me for personal travel tipps! What a great service is that?
- Location is great - close so many locations
- The room is wonderful. We stayed in Portland as we brought our Dog. Portland has a small
attached private Garden. The rooms are huge, with all equipment necessary, Coffee Tea, a
Bathroom with a bathtub and a big shower. We felt like a 5 star Hotel!
- Breakfast is wonderful, rich and everything you need

Besides all this I want to point out the incredibly friendlyness of David and his lovely family. We did not felt like simply guests, they made us feel the first second like friends welcome in their beautiful home. Also their private big garden which we were allowed to use for Errol to play. Did we needed more? No, absolutely not. All of our 4 nights were perfect. Thank you to all 3 of them for making us feel so welcome!

Make sure to visit the Royal Oak Restaurant down the Road for Dinner. Their food is excellent and Dogs are allowed too. Also I can recommend visits to Shaftesbury & Dorchester, really nice cities closeby. Go to the Jurassic Coas (Lyme Regis and Kimmeridge) for fossil hunting. But watch the tides! You can only do it by low tide.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same huge size and private bathrooms. Portland is the only one with a small, priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed one night but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation and meal. It is a beautiful old mill but with the most modern furnishings. The hosts were informative and very friendly. Will definitively visit again.

Room Tip: Always read the the Trip Adviser reviews of accommodation in the areas you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhôs-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights, to visit the excellent nearby Tank Museum, great room, very comfortable large bed, wonderful breakfasts, lovely eggs, even got us vegetarian bacon and sausages! and very friendly service! Good off-road car parking, Wifi works well too!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Old Mill | West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bere Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Bed and Breakfast has been recently established from the original village water mill which dates back to about 1750. Set in its own grounds and paddock of nearly 2 acres, and bounded by the Bere Stream, the Old Mill provides very comfortable yet modern en-suite accommodation in four large bedrooms. The Old Mill has a lobby, cloakroom and breakfast room on the ground floor, accessed via your own front door and four very comfortable en-suite bedrooms on the first and second floors each of which can be provided as a double or as a twin room as you prefer. Each bedroom has a restored antique brass, iron or wooden bedstead giving either a Super King sized bed or two 3 foot singles, as you prefer, by arrangement. In addition, we have 2 z beds which can be made up for a child under 12. All the bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, a built in wardrobe, a chest of drawers, flat screen TV, freeview, free WIFI and tea & coffee making facilities. All the rooms are furnished with antique and period furniture and pictures appropriate to their Dorset names. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast Bere Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.