We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Minadab Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Minadab Cottage to your Saves list
The Minadab Cottage
60 Teignmouth Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8UT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Teignmouth and Minidab Cottage was recommended by family members who live in Dawlish. From our arrival 'til we left, I don't think Anne and Andy could have done more for us!
We were welcomed with a Devonshire cream tea; cream with jam on the top, not like in Cornwall where the jam is put on first! It was delicious, and Anne even provided Earl Grey tea for my wife.
We stayed in Pickle room, a warm, comfortable room with a separate,large bathroom. The fridge contained complementary water and soft drinks, and Anne provided home-made biscuits every day! We stayed for 3 nights and slept like babies!
Breakfast was excellent! Every detail was attended to; locally produced bacon and sausages as well as fantastic eggs! Freshly squeezed orange juice, fantastic, fresh fruit and Andy's home-made bread finished the breakfast in style.
I don't think Anne and Andy could have made us more welcome; they certainly know how to spoil people. When we visit Teignmouth next we will be staying at Minidab Cottage DEFINITELY!!
Thank you Anne and Andy. Have a great season and I am sure all your guests will have a great stay!

Room Tip: We were downstairs in Pickle room. No stairs and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Minadab. I know you were here for a family party but I hope it won't be too long before we get to welcome you back. I'm glad we were able to make your stay comfortable and that you enjoyed being with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
87
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here in March as I wanted to stay in this historic property. Wow what a great decision that was, the whole house is fabulous, full of character, spotlessly clean, stylish and beautifully appointed. Greeted wonderfully by the owners, a Devon home made cream tea on arrival in their beautiful sitting room in big leather chairs. The room we stayed in was called Pickle on the ground floor, the bedroom was so comfy, we had a fridge with complementary water, milk and soft drinks, real coffee and cafetiere, tea, instant coffee and chocolate, wine glasses and bottle opener, home made biscuits. Everything you could want in the bedroom and such a lovely quiet place to get a good nights sleep. There is a separate closet in the rooms hallway and the bathroom was roomy and fabulous with plenty of hot water for the bath and electric shower over the bath, complementary toiletries and the most fabulous fluffy white towels. The decor everywhere has had a lot of thought and care put into it and is a credit to the owners. Breakfast in the morning was served beautifully and the food was delicious and locally sourced with plenty of choice. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend this highly. Thank you to our wonderful hosts Anne and Andy for making our stay very special and for the excellent baking, I really didn't want to leave, this is the best B and B I have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed staying with us and hope to be able to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Found Minadab Cottage on the Internet and the reviews were very favourable . It is easy to see from the main road with it's thatched roof and good private off road car park . The whole place has been refurbished since the present owners Andy and Anne, purchased it just over a year ago . Warm reception and interesting chat about the history of the spot both on arrival and before leaving on last day .
The bed and bedroom were not only comfortably warm but also fresh and good quality with a charm of its own . The bathroom was spacious , beautifully tiled and had a radiator as well as heating under the tiles . A couple of simple arm chairs and a mini fridge with fresh milk to complement the tea making facilities all contributed to a restful night .
Good choice of breakfast cereals ,fresh fruit , yoghurt and a choice of cooked breakfasts all made for a good place to stay for a couple of nights on my travels .

Room Tip: The downstairs bedroom in the original part of the oldest part of the cottage was a true delight wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always very nice when our guests are interested in the history of our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Minadab Cottage is a historic building full of character and calming ambience. We experienced an exceptional warm and genuine welcome, Anne and Andy who own and run the Minadab pull out all the stops on arrival and during the stay to make you feel welcome. We were offered a cream tea on arrival, homemade by Anne , and a choice of barista coffees professionally made by Andy "which delighted me as I am a connoisseur of caffeine in the form of coffee".
Homemade biscuits, breads and jams and a breakfast cooked to perfection. A large choice of DVD's and a spacious, comfortable, charming bespoke room with a view and fresh coffee, tea and a fridge full of complementary refreshments... we felt thoroughly spoilt.

Anne and Andy are delightful hosts full of personality, charm and warmth... GREAT PEOPLE! You really feel their passion for their beloved Minadab Cottage and making your stay one to remember.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!!! different in style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne J, Owner at The Minadab Cottage, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the coffee and our homemade goodies. Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed for one night only, but wished we could have stayed longer, Anne and Andy are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. On arriving Anne presented us with a lovely cream tea, home made scones and jam, We had a lovely room with super bed, and in the morning we had first rate breakfast with homemade bread for toast.
We would definately stay again and rate Minadab as one of the best b&bs we have stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had to come down to teignmouth for work , we couldn't have found a better b&b for our stay , been here nearly a week and another week to go , I won't want to go home , fresh bread baked by andy and home made treats by anne. anne & andy are fantastic people, will be back that's for sure , next time will be for pleasure ;)

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect and have there own lovely ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelios, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My sister and i stayed here in October we were visiting relatives and the welcome we received i have never known before, Anne shows you your room and then has a delicious home made cream tea for you and after traveling for several hours it is much appreciated.
The rooms are well equipped with fresh coffee,a fridge with water, soft drinks and milk, Anne bakes her own biscuits and refills every day.
Our beds were so comfy we found it very difficult to get up on a morning,the breakfasts wonderful variety and Andy's porridge is to die for.
Both Anne and Andy are friendly and make you feel like home from home nothing is too much trouble so hopefully we will see you next year.

Karen and Christine

Room Tip: They have 3 rooms and they are all well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Minadab Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Minadab Cottage

Address: 60 Teignmouth Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minadab Cottage is a luxury Bed and Breakfast in the picturesque town of Teignmouth with colourful gardens and plenty of parking. Once inside the character and warmth of this historic home encourages you to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Minadab Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Minadab Cottage Teignmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Minadab Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.