We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicky & Brian great hosts, lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thornhill Hotel to your Saves list
Thornhill Hotel
Sea Front | South Devon, Teignmouth TQ14 8TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nicky & Brian great hosts, lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a family get together, weekend 1st - 4th June 2012. 9 adults and 2 dogs. We where all made very welcome. Fab location for pubs, restaurants, shops but still in a quiet setting. Parking close by. Beach, "dog friendly" just across the road, great park nearby, especially if you have a dog. Breakfast selection was excellent. Rooms clean and nicely presented. Nicky and Brian are a lovely couple. We highly recommend a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
48
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Palais-sur-Mer, Poitou-Charentes, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Well what a lovely stay we had at the Thornhill. Nicky and Brian were very pleasant, friendly and welcoming hosts. The hotel is in a nice quiet setting on the sea front and our room was clean and very nicely presented. Brian cooked a lovely breakfast for us and accommodated my vegetarianism. We only stayed the one night on a flying visit through the town, but we would certainly like to stay at the Thornhill again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Sea view probably looks great but the rooms are so nice and clean its a pleasure to sleep in any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton,Manchester
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have been going to Teignmouth for at least 10 years.
We stayed at the Thornhill in August 2011 and we have booked to return in August 2012.
When I booked last year Nicky & Brian hadn't taken over but were in the hot seat by the time to visit arrived. We was made very welcome and they had already made some updates to the rooms. We had stayed before so knew that the location was good, by the town, by the sea front, near the railway station, close to the Lido, with a good car park near by (buy a weeks ticket at the tourist information - you get list of car parks you are covered for - not just in Teignmouth but Dawlish etc as well) The rooms are a good size, very clean with good bed linen & towels. We have the family room - we have a double & two singles & it doesn't feel cramped.
Brians cooking is really good - breakfast was great and we ended up eating in most nights because we enjoyed it and the granddaughters got a personal chef - with Brian cooking to order for them - pizza, spaghetti bolognese, pancakes - nothing was too much to ask. The girls had a good time so, so did we. You don't have to eat in, there is lovely Italian just aroud the corner, some good pub grub, restaurants & a decent fish & chip shop all local. Good places to visit if you have kids are the park on Teignmouth Sea Front with the wet play area,the beaches are great to, Shaldon Zoo, Powderham Castle, Kents Caverns (good on a wet day as well), model village at Babbacombe. Choose the Thornhill and you will have a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a good sea view. They even have a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Had a lovely stay in this hotel- the room was lovely, clean, comfortable, and the couple running the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. Would definatley stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Nicola and Brian have been running the Thornhill less than a year, and they are doing all they can to make their guests' stay pleasant. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Brian's cooking is excellent,a nd the cooked breakfast will keep you going all day. An ideal place for a 'staycation'.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms available at extra cost. It is wise to ring in advance to say when you are arriving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Good choice! Friendly owners, good breakfast, clean and well furnished rooms.

Better than some other hotels we have stayed in in Teignmouth! Like other hotels limited parking available, but public carparks not too far.

Please note not all rooms have ensuite bathrooms and are indicated as private bathrooms online. Private bathrooms are only a few steps from the bedroom and for sole use, but you won't be able to walk to your private bathroom in private ;)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuvicq, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

A last minute booking. Both the owners were very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean, comfortable , well equipped and well presented. The breakfast was excellent both in quantity and quality, an ideal start to the day. All in all an excellent place to stay we will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Address: Sea Front | South Devon, Teignmouth TQ14 8TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian building, comprising 10 comfortable well-appointed bedrooms, each furnished with flat screen TV. A warm welcome awaits you at the Thornhill where you will be assured of a comfortable and relaxing stay. Your comfort is our priority and the lounge with a sea view is at the disposal of guests at all times. The Thornhill is beautifully situated on the seafront with no hills to climb and only a few 100 yards from the town centre. You can just walk across the promenade to the sandy beach, where you can sunbathe and swim. Alongside the Thornhill there is a heated public lido in contrast to the sea and sandy beach opposite. Long sunshine days and the mild climate of South Devon give rise to the title of The English Riviera of which Teignmouth is the heart. Teignmouth is an the ideal place for sea and river boating, fishing, diving, bowls, golf, bird watching and so much more. The steam railway and the South West Coastal Path pass through the town. At nearby Newton Abbot there are regular horse race meetings and antique fairs. We have a variety of tasty breakfast dishes on our menu including a full English served in our spacious and tastefully decorated dining room.Our buffet table has a wide selection of juices, yoghurts, fruits and breakfast cereals from which to help yourself. Ample tea, coffee and toast completes a good start to the day. Check in is 14.00 To 18.00. Please inform the Thornhill of your arrival times when booking and if you wish to arrive outside of the check in times, please contact the Thornhill. Check out is 8.30 - 11.00. Please call us about late check out. We are happy to keep your luggage for a while once you have vacated the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.