We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thornhill Hotel to your Saves list
Thornhill Hotel
Sea Front | South Devon, Teignmouth TQ14 8TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Storrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed at the Thornhill for 2 nights over the weekend of 11/12 November - Right from the welcome I received from the owner to the time I left on Sunday the Staff were brilliant. Check in easy, offered to carry my bags to the room and Breakfast was excellent with good choices available.
My room was big, very clean and the Bed was very comfortable. Had a sea view as well. The Hotel is very convenient for the Beach and the town. This Hotel provides excellent value for money - 5 star - Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
48
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Have just come back from a weekend stay at this hotel.It was a nice suprise to see what a lovely clean large bedroom we had been given .The breakfast was great and staff couldn,t do enough for you.It was close to beach and the town centre was just around the corner.I think it was very good value for money.And would recommend it to friends

lorraine and ken

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just spent 2 nights at the thornhill with my family. They looked after the children really well and nothing was too much trouble. Really clean room and good breakfast with fresh fruit. These guys have only been there since april this year and are doing a great job!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Nicky and Brian are wonderful hosts, we enjoyed another fabulous stay last weekend. They make you feel so welcome,the rooms are really clean and comfortable and the breakfast is first class. We asked for a evening meal for 11 people on the Saturday night to celebrate my partners birthday and the evening was a fantastic success, great food, service, atmosphere and also such good value for money. Everything that Brian cooked was perfect and everybody really enjoyed it. Nothing seems to ever be too much trouble for these people, they are hard working very nice people that made our stay so good and enjoyable, they make a great team, and we will definitely be back , and certainly recommend their evening meal menu.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My sister and I just spent 2 nights at this lovely B&B. The new owners have done a nice job updating the hotel and have more planned. They were welcoming, friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast very good. The hotel is in the perfect location along the seawall. Parking was a short walk away, but this was not a problem. We would highly recommend The Thornhill.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011 via mobile

A very friendly informal hotel with the biggest bed I have ever slept in great view of the sea
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice
Nicky and Brian made us feel at home and were attentive and welcoming
Thanks so much. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

we had a lovely stay at the Thornhill hotel. Clean and tidy room with all you could need. Staff are very friendly and made you feel welcome.

Super breakfast, excellent location to shops and lots to do in the area.

Definitely will be visiting again!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Address: Sea Front | South Devon, Teignmouth TQ14 8TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian building, comprising 10 comfortable well-appointed bedrooms, each furnished with flat screen TV. A warm welcome awaits you at the Thornhill where you will be assured of a comfortable and relaxing stay. Your comfort is our priority and the lounge with a sea view is at the disposal of guests at all times. The Thornhill is beautifully situated on the seafront with no hills to climb and only a few 100 yards from the town centre. You can just walk across the promenade to the sandy beach, where you can sunbathe and swim. Alongside the Thornhill there is a heated public lido in contrast to the sea and sandy beach opposite. Long sunshine days and the mild climate of South Devon give rise to the title of The English Riviera of which Teignmouth is the heart. Teignmouth is an the ideal place for sea and river boating, fishing, diving, bowls, golf, bird watching and so much more. The steam railway and the South West Coastal Path pass through the town. At nearby Newton Abbot there are regular horse race meetings and antique fairs. We have a variety of tasty breakfast dishes on our menu including a full English served in our spacious and tastefully decorated dining room.Our buffet table has a wide selection of juices, yoghurts, fruits and breakfast cereals from which to help yourself. Ample tea, coffee and toast completes a good start to the day. Check in is 14.00 To 18.00. Please inform the Thornhill of your arrival times when booking and if you wish to arrive outside of the check in times, please contact the Thornhill. Check out is 8.30 - 11.00. Please call us about late check out. We are happy to keep your luggage for a while once you have vacated the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.