We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy scrummy food and cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hobbit Cafe & Cake Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hobbit Cafe & Cake Shop
45 | Teign Street, Teignmouth TQ14 8EA, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 57 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Small quaint little family run café which also has a little bakery in the same street. One of Teignmouth's hidden secrets! Should have been called Temptation! All the cakes are homemade by Helene, who also makes celebration, diabetic & gluten free cakes to order.
Restaurant details
Description: Small quaint little family run café which also has a little bakery in the same street. One of Teignmouth's hidden secrets! Should have been called Temptation! All the cakes are homemade by Helene, who also makes celebration, diabetic & gluten free cakes to order.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“yummy scrummy food and cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

not for the dieters, but everyone is allowed treat, i would highly recommend spending money here, and order a fab personilsed birthday cake to.. very yum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Such wonderful home made cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Why make your own cakes when you can buy from The Hobbit , absolutely delicious and such a choice each day , not only have I enjoyed a coffee and cake there I have recently had a wonderful Birthday cake made for my husband, it was a rich sponge with a thick royal icing ,everyone remarked how lovely the cake looked and tasted ...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“5 Days in Shaldon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a meal in The Hobbit Cafe very very clean, food was excellent and friendly service. Would definitely recommend

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value, indifferent service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely hot drinks and cakes at excellent prices but unfortunately we did not receive the customer service we would expect from a nearly empty café during the winter season. Next time we will just visit the Hobbit cake shop further down the road and take our cakes away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Hobbit Cake shop created our wedding cake. It looked fantastic, tasted great and cost less than £50 for a two tier cake. Excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hobbit Cafe & Cake Shop also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Hobbit Cafe & Cake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hobbit Cafe & Cake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.