We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Shack on the beach

Crab Shack on the beach
3 Queen Street, Back Beach, Teignmouth TQ14 8BY , England
01626 777956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited the Crab Shack last week whilst on holiday. My girlfriend loves seafood and enjoyed prawns and mussells. I'm not a seafood fan but the rib eye steak is one of the best i've had. It has a nice atmosphere and the staff we happy and friendly. Definatley the best place to eat in teignmouth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    59
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Crabtastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just wondered what was the matter with previous reviewer owlandpussycat what did they expect?

Crab shack on the beach is a superb establishment food was supertasty, I've eaten crab at Ettas Crab Shack in Seattle which is supposed to be one of the best, this crab was far superior to the Dungeness crabs you get there. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had the Lobster and Crab plus a bucket of Crab Claws and Lobster Claws shared between three, whilst not cheap worth every penny, wish I lived nearer I'd be a regular. All in all spot on we loved it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were very lucky to get a table at late notice, early doors at 7pm and the table would be outside, no problem for us as the weather was glorious. The service, food and wine was excellent and the weather helped it even more. Recommend the garlic crab claws and the desserts !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb food and presented fit for a king”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

As we purely wanted seafood we were naturally directed to the Crabshack where we had a superb meal. This was our holiday treat and nothing disappointed. The staff were friendly s and the food was nothing short of excellent. Expensive but worth every penny. I would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A great little restaurant, thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was freshly caught local fish. Love the décor - Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Shack on the beach also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to Crab Shack on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Shack on the beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.