We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites in Teignmouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
Seafront, Teignmouth TQ14 8SZ, England
01626 778909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 57 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
South Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of my favourites in Teignmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Been here several times and never let me down with its brilliant views and food to boot. I recommend the hot chocs with all the trimmings - a real treat :) definitely coming back here again in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    73
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of Favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have only been in the town of Teignmouth for 18 months and therefore, cannot comment on other venues to eat. However, I have always enjoyed the Beechcomber All day Breakfast and their lovely cheddar sandwiches. The staff are very professional and always helpful, asking if I require extras such as mayo or sauce depending on meal I have chosen. It is lovely to eat in when the weather is rough and look out on a sea that is creating wonderful huge waves. However, I think the seats by the window are somewhat looking dated and the metal windows really do require replacing with modern wide opening double glazed systems that will bring fresh air in on a hot summers day and yet keep the condensation and drafts out when the winter months arrive. I do hope the owners will take this on board if they are to keep ahead of the local competition.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraapts, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that The Beachcomber is a favourite venue of yours.

We could not agree more with your comment regarding the windows but unfortunately as the building is owned by the council we are not permitted to replace the windows or update the exterior in any way.

We hope to see you at the Beachcomber again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Popular Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My daughter's birthday and we went to Teignmouth especially to have one of their delish breakfasts. Unfortunately, even though it's mid-Winter, it was full and we couldn't get in! Very popular place to eat, right on the sea front with lovely views. We go there often! Disappointed not to get in there today :(

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Probably the best full English breakfast I've ever eaten! Don't be put off by the exterior appearance, the Beachcomber is truly superb.
Really generous portions, freshly cooked food, friendly staff, excellent coffee and hot chocolate. What more could you possibly want?!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Hot Chocloate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Not the greatest weekend to visit Devon but the Beachcomber came to the rescue. Three huge hot chocolates - cream, marshmallows and a flake (plus a coffee!!). Sat behind glass watching the rain and waves being driven by the wind. The food and cakes looked equally enticing but we had sadly already eaten. I suspect it's equally as nice on a sunny day!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.