We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
Seafront, Teignmouth TQ14 8SZ, England
01626 778909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 53 restaurants in Teignmouth
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have visited this location a number of times, as we live in the area. Open all the year round, this small restaurant is located on the sea front not far from the main pier. We have enjoyed coffee, sandwiches and meals at this place, all of which have been delicious and well presented. The staff are professional and friendly and the menu has something for everyone. The desserts are particularly delicious, and the lemon meringue is served as a giant slab with cream or ice cream. We always make a point of visiting this location, whenever we are in Teignmouth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    93
    55
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Teigmouth seafront halfway house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An ideally placed restaurant half way along Teigmouth seafront, with lovely views over the beach & pier & out to sea.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular at the beachcomber after moving to Devon from the midlands, the food never fails to hit the spot and the cakes are always lovely! The added fact that you have the sea right in front of you is just gravy for this all round good place to eat

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat, close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have eaten here a few times now and I have to say its a good place. Seating is a little limited indoors but there are also tables outside. The food was good and portions about right for the price. A good selection on the menu. Nice atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraApartmen... T, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoy The Beachcomber and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just the best cafe for miles around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It really is an excellent place. Breakfasts are so tasty and the cakes are to die for. The staff can't do enough for you. We live in Dawlish, but there's nowhere as good as this for coffee/breakfast so we travel to Teignmouth. Even the dog is welcomed with a bowl of water.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.