We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
Seafront, Teignmouth TQ14 8SZ, England
01626 778909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 59 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Called in at the beachcomber as we were caught in the pouring rain, straight away a member of staff named Ruth was only to happy to welcome us in and found us a table!!!! Penny at the counter was friendly and so helpful. Lunch was fantastic and I will certainly be going back to see the friendly faces of penny and Ruth.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    93
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food here is very nice and they have a wide variety of options to suit most peoples tastes.We have always had to eat at one of the outside tables because the restaurant is not really accessable if you have a pushchair as it is up a flight of steps.The meals are a nice size although a little on the pricey side.The view from the outside tables is lovely as it is right by the sea although it can get a little cold and windy.The staff were polite but I did find that once the food was put in front of us, they went back inside and left us without cutlery which we then had to fetch ourselves.We also had to work out where to find the condiments and sauce.We ate close to closing time and the staff were clearing up as we were eating which made us feel as if we should rush our meal so that they could finish clearing up.As the bill came to £40 I wasn't very impressed at feeling like we had to rush our meals.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cafe with a great view but otherwise fairly ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This cafe has a wonderful view and good cakes but is let down by average (sometimes very rude - depending on how busy they are and therefore how much they need/value your custom that day) service. We have been to this cafe several times with friends and family as its great to look at the sea and the boats passing by, but we have given up using it as sniffy service from two staff members in particular has put us off wanting to spend our money there anymore. Its a shame. I can only think that (due to their great location on the sea front) they have so many customers passing by, they don't need to be polite.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We welcome fair criticism and can only apologise if you thought any of our waiting teams behaviour was rude. We enjoy taking the time to chat with our customers but are conscious that this can sometimes frustrate other customers who are waiting to place an order. We therefore tread a fine line between serving at speed and delivering a first class service at the same time.

We do have an enviable position with beautiful views but I must stress that our customers, some of which we see so often that we consider friends are just as important as seasonal passing trade and are always welcomed with enthusiasm.

We hope to welcome you back to The Beachcomber Cafe one day and are confident that you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

A lovey place to visit for coffee and cake. Serving costa coffee and a wide range of homemade cakes, the malteser slice is highly recommended. Also serve a wide range of sandwiches and breakfasts.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

me and my mum started going here as we could not find anywere good in teignmouth for breakfast ! are we glad we did ! the food is great the staff are very nice,its got to be the best place in town for breakfast

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.