We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Lawn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Teignmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Lawn Hotel
Save
You added South Lawn Hotel to your Saves list
18 Hermosa Road, Teignmouth TQ14 9JZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights bed and breakfast and couldn't fault the hotel . The room was clean and the view was lovely out towards the harbour .The bed was very comfortable and lots of hot water to shower .(The room next to ours with the two single beds also had out standing views of the harbour and would have also been happy with that room as well )
The breakfast was lovely and kate and lee couldn't have been more helpful .
We also looked at the appartments and hope to go back with friends and stay in one of those .
Very good value hotel with lots to do out and about .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon,England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Kate and her husband are very pleasant and helpful.Our room was very small.In fact it was so small the wardrobe was in the corridor !!! Just enough room to walk around the two single beds pushed together as a double.The shower room was equally tiny and anyone of large proportions will have trouble.
We paid a low offer price and therefore were quite happy to accept the limitations but if we had paid the full price we would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katie2020, Owner at South Lawn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
Dear Alan,

I am very sorry you felt the need to write such a negative review of your stay with us. Although the room you stayed in was our smallest room we felt you were offered value for money bearing in mind you only paid £15 per night per person. This room is not typical of all our rooms and hence we do offer at a lower rate.

Our aim is to offer good value and comfortable accommodation. To date we have had very positive feed back from our customers and we are sorry you were not completely satisfied.

We are a relatively new business (as we usually explain to customers) it is our long term aim to improve all our facilities. In the meantime I feel the prices were charge reflect in the accommodation on offer.

With kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We booked a double room and got a whole apartment as it was not booked by anyone else. The decor was lovely and the breakfast was good. Great value and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed at South lawn hotel - greeted by Kate and Lee, made very welcome, excellent room greeat breakfast would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at South Lawns.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and can honestly say we could not find fault with anything.The accommodation which consisted of a whole wing of the house with private entrance was spotless.The full English breakfasts were excellent.We found the location perfect for walks with our dog and would happily recommend family and friends to stay at South Lawns.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Having travelled 4 hours to get to Teignmouth we were greeted by the warmest welcome from Kate. The minute we set foot in South Lawn we were made to feel so welcome and nothing was ever too much from our hosts. Our family consists of 2 adults and 1 child, we were literally given a wing of the house, privately sectioned off witht 3 bedrooms ( 2 of which over looked the sea). The B & B is run by Kate and her husband Lee ( both coming from a lesiure and catering background) and there lovely family, which really made for a perfect family feel. Lee's Breakfasts were second to none and my waistline has suffered dramatically as a result !!. I would highly recommend this B&B for being quite honestly the best, well managed, affordable haven. We shall be returning again, once I have shed a few pounds in preperations for the wonderful breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Fantastic welcome, Kate and Lee could not have been more helpful. Excellent value for money staying in ground floor self catering apartment. Ample parking, a rarity in Teignmouth. We dined in house on two evenings of our stay, food was all freshly prepared, plentiful and delicious, and reasonably priced - not to be missed. Just a five minute walk from the town centre and seafront with an excellent view of the river estuary. If you do eat out try the Talk of the Town, good value basic dining with a freindly welcome, stays open until mid evening so check times.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lawn Hotel

Address: 18 Hermosa Road, Teignmouth TQ14 9JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Lawn Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Lawn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.