We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cliffden Hotel to your Saves list
Cliffden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Dawlish Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our second visit, with wheelchair and dog, to this lovely hotel, visiting family in Torquay. We phoned a short time before our intended stay and booked in by very helpful staff at a very reasonable rate. Due to heavy traffic we were too late for dinner at the hotel(8pm), so went into Teignmouth. That was a disaster, everywhere was closing up when we got there, so had to make do with a takeaway! The hotel's reception were helpful and friendly, especially about parking as my car has a side ramp for the wheelchair. Our dog was welcome, they have a bowl of water in the porch and towels for drying them off. The room was very clean, quite spacious and comfortable, and although there is a wheel-in shower, there is no way to get under the sink and/or dressing table to use a mirror, or to wheel beside the toilet if necessary. The bed is too low for easy transferring on/off, but we managed and it was only for a short period, but it would be nice if the disabled facilties were improved. The breakfast is really quite good with plenty of choice and good helpings, and the staff were very helpful at raising the table so I could get underneath. The gardens are beautiful and I believe are being improved. Very good wheelchair access and wonderful for the dog. Quick access close to the town/beach available by key to a gate at the bottom. All in all a nice relaxed stay and will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
25
42
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We were placed in a room with a bed that creaked non stop and a room that became unbearably hot. When the room temperature became too much and it was clear it was impossible for either of us to sleep under such conditions, we asked to be moved. I should clarify that I am a heavy sleeper and moving was an absolute last resort. I've been to lots of hot countries and have no problem sleeping in the hot weather but it was like we were sleeping directly on top of an oven and it wasn't even hot outside. The porter acted completely surprised when I complained and when the manager was called he was incensed that he had been woken up and was outright rude to me. I urge anybody thinking of staying at this hotel look at the other numerous reviews recording the exact same complaints over and over again. find it incomprehensible that the manager of an establishment that charges in excess of £150 per night not only does nothing to rectify the problems but rather acts as though customer after customer is making the problem up. Shockingly poor customer service. I've had a much better stay at a Travel Inn for £30 .

On the plus side, the senior lady receptionist was really nice and the hotel grounds were pretty spectacular. In hindsight I should have picked a bush outside to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We did not realise when booking that this hotel catered for guests with sight difficulties and their guide dogs, so it was a surprise but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The dogs are wonderful and of course immaculately behaved. The hotel has superb grounds and is extremely clean. A bit old-fashioned, but in the good sense, with extremely kind and helpful staff. I would echo a previous comment about the hot water, which is indeed scaldingly hot and needs care. The hotel is up quite a steep hill but the No. 2 bus from the town centre will take you the short distance up to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a lovely week-end away at Cliffden Hotel, the man on reception was very welcoming as our room was not quite ready, we had a walk around the lovely well kept gardens. It was a long walk to our room but we were not disappointed, it was clean, a good size and it had a bath, which seems a rare occurance now a days! It was is great value, the breakfasts were adequate, but we think the swimming pool was the most amazing building and the pool was clean, hot and enjoyable.
If we had a negative, it would be that there was a high pitch noise

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A lovely hotel owned by Guide Dogs For The Blind, now rented and run by Action For Blind. Unfortunately it needs money spent on it to bring it back up to the lovely standard it used to be. Bathrooms especially. Plumbing needs special attention as dangerously hot. A fantastic location with nice grounds. Some rooms were being redecorated during our stay not sure if they are refurbishing the bathrooms though.
Service in the restaurant has gone down hill (waiting time,could not remember who ordered what and forgot to bring porridge) and bar prices are ridiculosly high including bar lunch menu.
Staff are friendly and polite. It is naturally a dog friendly hotel with Guide Dogs in abundance, the dog beds,fleeces and bowls are provided in your bedroom.

There are some fantastic walks and of course the beach.

We will go back without doubt as we do every year, however it would be nice to see some money invested in it especially the bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived late Saturday afternoon and the lady on reception was both welcoming and efficient, we read several reviews after booking and were a little concerned by some of the comments. How wrong it would have been to have cancelled our booking. Our room was light bright and very large. We even had a balcony looking out over the lovely gardens and a sea view, what a lovely surprise. The bathroom was well appointed with large fluffy towels and complementary toiletries.
We pre ordered our dinner as we decided not go out that evening.
Sadly there was an issue with one of the meals but the manager soon sorted things out.
There was aflat screen tv with freeview and plenty of tea and coffee. Breakfast was plentiful and the eggs were perfect. This hotel caters for people with sight impairments and sighted alike it was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Try for a garden room at a small supplement you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfect place to stay if you're a dog lover with beautiful large gardens with fabulous dog walks and about 5 minutes walk to the beach - the room was spacious, lovely and warm and over looked the gardens. The table we were allocated for breakfast was just superb overlooking the gardens. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Perfect location for exploring other areas either by car or train - Dawlish being a favourite spot along with Dartmouth & Slapton Sands and of course there's the lovely Brixham & Torquay close by. We made friends with many guide dogs & their owners and will cherish the memories as this was Busters last holiday place with us and will definitely be returning. If you don't like dogs then don't come here and if you do come please do not moan about it regarding the dogs after all it's a hotel for the visually impaired and that's top priority and for sighted people to be allowed to take their dogs to somewhere that is genuinely dog friendly is a blessing as most hotels that say they are dog friendly are not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffden Hotel

Address: Dawlish Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cliffden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffden Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.