We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in so many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorings B & B

Moorings B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Teignmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moorings B & B
Save
You added Moorings B & B to your Saves list
Teignmouth Road, Teignmouth, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in so many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and couldn't have wished for a better way to start our holiday. From the lovely cream tea served in the garden looking out at such spectacular views, huge comfortable bed, fridge to chill our wine, fabulous breakfast and their tolerance of two leather clad bikers arriving with all their touring gear, we can't thank Marily and Mick enough for making us feel so welcome. Would highly recommend and will certainly be back:))

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were looking for somewhere a bit different to stay in teignmouth area for our wedding anniversary and came across this excellent b&b online. Great room, very clean, we had one with own conservatory, spectatular cliff top sea views across the bay, very good breakfast with lots of options. a very relaxing feel to the place with great hosts who made you feel very welcome. close to nice restaurant and pub and nearby access to the sea wall walk into teignmouth. would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for just 2 nights in this lovely B&B. As other reviewers have remarked Marilyn and Mick made us feel very welcome. Marilyn had kindly booked us a table at the Castle Inn a nice little local pub which was clearly well frequented by locals The room we enjoyed was very well appointed with it's own small conservatory a nice place to relax whilst enjoying a coffee and a read. The clifftop garden with it's infinity fence was a delightful place to sit with a glass of wine whilst enjoying the uninterrupted sea view. A good choice of things for breakfast set us up nicely for our days out. Marilyn suggested a lovely walk along the coast path into town with the sea on one side and the cliff and lovely coastal railway line with a short ferry trip across to Shaldon thoroughly enjoyable, leaving the car safely parked for the day an excellent suggestion. An excellent place to stay and we would certainly stay here again and one we will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the executive room for a Birthday treat. Room opens out onto a small conservatory which not only has views out to sea thanks to the inspirational glass "infinity" fence but also steps out directly into the garden. The views are to die for! You also have unrestricted use of the lounge and garden with various seating options and a wonderfully middle-eastern style pagoda.
Upon arrival we were made to feel at home and were treated to a pot of very welcome tea and biscuits out in the garden. Our hosts Mike and Marilyn were warm and very friendly people, and nothing was too much trouble. They were happy to make reservations at local eateries and even once headed after us when we had no reservation at the Castle Inn and it was fully booked to let us know and offer a lift to an alternative pub.
Breakfasts are excellent with the option to mix and match your choices (hubby highly recommends his own concoction of black pudding, smoked haddock and scrambled eggs!).
If you're eating out, we would personally recommend the Castle Inn (if you can get a reservation); Smugglers was ok but Castle far superior. Want to venture further, Frescos is a real treat in Teignmouth.
Intersting things to do include Devon Wildlife Centre (privately funded animal rescue centre) and Shaldon Wildlife Centre. Oh, and hop on the ferry over to Shaldon and enjoy a drink at The Ness or the Ferry Boat Inn.
We would definitely stay here again when in Teignmouth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, North Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This has to be the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Marilyn & Mick the owners make you feel so welcome and at home. Breakfast was absoloutly scrummy. Enjoyed a bottle of wine in the garden in the evening. We were at a wedding the next day and Marilyn accomodated us so well my friend arrived to do my hair we were given coffee not to mention mirrors chairs hairdryers set up in the conservatory looking out over the ocean. I recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a chilled break away you will certainly not beat it! The Mediterranean garden is out of this world with its very own parrot too! The rooms are very comfortable and you are provided with a fidga and glasses to take youre fave tipple along with you. Marilyn kindly made reservations at a local pub for us wich the food was also excellent. If you want a quiet romantic getaway this is def the place to go :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed at the Moorings for the last two nights of a week long trip to Devon and Cornwall for my husbands 50th birthday and it was the highlight of the week. The room was lovely, very clean with lots of extra little touches. The patio doors led to a small conservatory and the immaculate garden with breathtaking sea views. We were met by Marilyn who is a wonderful host, very laidback and with lots of ideas of where to go and where to eat. We ate the first night at the Smugglers which is 10 minutes walk away. We should have taken up Marilyns offer to book a table for us as when we arrived the restaurant was fully booked, but we managed to find a table in the bar. The quality of our food explained the restaurants popularity- apparently you have to book weeks in advance to get a table on a Sunday for the carvery!

The following day we went to Paignton Zoo-highly reccomended-after which we didn't fancy going out for dinner. Marilyns husband recommended a chinese restaurant and we had our meal delivered in. We had the table overlooking the garden laid for us, chopsticks and all, and it was lovely.

The breakfasts were probably the best I've had-strawberries and cream followed by full english on the first day and poached eggs and bacon the following day. My husband had smoked mackeral which he also thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast was again very relaxed and the setting looking out over the sea couldn't have been nicer.

If we are ever staying in the area again we would definately stay at The Moorings and would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Did not want to leave ... we had the best weekend. The Moorings is immaculate, spectacular sea view and the hospitality was top notch. We will go back but not sure when as they are fully booked up because of their excellent reputation. Some really thoughtful touches e.g best china tea cups, egyptian cotton bedding ... breakfast at a time convenient to us. Simply put this is a 5 star B&B ... cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorings B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings B & B

Address: Teignmouth Road, Teignmouth, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Moorings B & B Teignmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorings B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.