We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazingly cosy b&b!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grizedale Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grizedale Lodge to your Saves list
Grizedale Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hawkshead, Grizedale LA22 0QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Grizedale B&B and Inns
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What an amazingly cosy b&b!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at Grizedale Lodge. We both thought that the cosyness, attention to detail and cleanliness were second to none. The choice of breakfast options was excellent, from fresh fruit to home made bread, porridge, yoghurt etc etc. The breakfast portions were perfect; just right and non- greasy.
It's a fantastic base for active days out in the woods with a great variety of trails ( walking/ mountain biking) and when your kit gets wet just ask to have it put in the drying room; dry in no time!
All in all a great place to stay if you are looking for charm and a friendly atmosphere.
We will definitely try to stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and made the most of the area. I hope you are able to come again sometime. All the very best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    15
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
143
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for six nights recently, and really didn't want to leave! I felt welcome from the moment I walked in the door. Both Richard and Deb bend over backwards to make everything perfect. Breakfast was excellent -- whisk(e)y porridge, full cooked breakfast, home-made bread and jams / marmalades, what more could a person want? And birds eating at the feeders outdoors if entertainment is needed, too.

The lodge is perfectly sited for walking (at least three public footpaths within a short walk), all the activities in Grizedale Forest, or having a peaceful stay in the very quiet Lake District countryside.

I will definitely be staying here again the next time I visit the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Grizedale Lodge is ideally located to explore the forest from the front door, and as some guests have commented they park the car and never use it doing their stay here! I look forward to seeing you again sometime. All the best Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent only one night at Grizedale in July with friends and can highly recommend it. The lounge with comfy sofas, games, magazines and a chance to socialise with other guests is a real bonus. The rooms are clean, comfortable and individual (sneaked a look into two or three of them). A couple of minutes away is the Go Ape trail - great fun. The hosts, Richard and Debs couldn't be more welcoming or accommodating - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is brilliant and will set you up well for a day of walking the nearby hills. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, and fro recommending us. I look forward to meeting you again in the future. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Grizedale Lodge is a great place to stay with wonderful hosts and great food. Location is superb to explore the heart of the Lakes and you will not be disappointed. Dogs are permitted to stay and the place has a nice homely feel so thoroughly recommended all round

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Being in Grizedale Forest makes it an ideal location for dog walking, especially when the weather this weekend was so great! I hope you are able to visit again sometime. All the very best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week on the way up to Scotland and 1 night on the way back.Rooms beautiful and food excellent.Richard and Debs very friendly and hospitable. Will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Grizedale and managed to return so quickly as a stop on your return journey home. I hope you are able to stay longer next time and not have to do so much driving, with lots to see around Grizedale and the immediate area. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friends recommended Grizedale Lodge to us & from the moment we walked in we knew why.
Everything was 5*..our room was a generous size and spotless - proper china tea cups with tea & coffee facilities in room, this along with 'help your self' drinks & playing board games in front of log fire in the beautiful lounge gave such a lovely homely feel...not to mention leaving our walking boots in the hall to be dried (&warmed!) overnight! Richard & Debbie are meticulous in keeping high standards of customer service...remembering our names from 1st intro's, setting us up for the day with their super breakfasts, & spending time chatting with us when we're sure they had more pressing things to do.
We plan to be back again next year & we now will be recommending here to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review - it certainly sounds like you appreciated all the touches to try and make it feel like home, and our aim of creating somewhere to return to again and again. I hope you are able to visit again sometime. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Grizedale Lodge was recommended to us and it certainly lived up to expectations. Very cosy and homely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fantastic. Richard and Debbie have got it just right! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is encouraging when guests understand what we are trying to achieve, as you obviously have. I hope you can return sometime soon. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grizedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizedale Lodge

Address: Hawkshead, Grizedale LA22 0QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grizedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grizedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grizedale Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizedale Lodge is a former hunting lodge set in the breathtaking setting of Grizedale Forest, just two miles from the famous village of Hawkshead, with its quaint historic shops, pubs and restaurants. Under new ownership since April 2011, this friendly high quality guest house welcomes walkers, cyclists, couples and families alike. Home cooked breakfast is included,; there's free parking on-site and well behaved dogs are welcome at a small charge. Grizedale Lodge recently gained a TripAdvisor award for achieving exceptional reviews on a continual basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grizedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizedale Hotel Hawkshead
Grizedale Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizedale Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.