We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple, house and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grizedale Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grizedale Lodge to your Saves list
Grizedale Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hawkshead, Grizedale LA22 0QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Grizedale B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely couple, house and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights last weekend and cannot fault it. The property is in a gorgeous location surrounded by Grizedale forest. The lodge itself is lovely with a wonderful guest sitting room with views out the the surrounding garden and forest to sit, read, relax and possibly have a glass of vino from the bar. Richard is an attentive host and Debs is a wonderful chef. We took the opportunity to dine at The lodge on one night and the food was lovely, especially the choc & pear crumble!!! Room (2) was spacious with a lovely four poster bed and windows facing out two sides of the property, with everything that you would need. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. The weather has just turned much colder and so the wood burner has been fired up - ideal for relaxing after a pear and chocolate crumble! I hope you are both able to visit again soon. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    15
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
143
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August,with 2 kids and the family dog. Dogs are made to feel welcome without being too doggy and without any doggy smells.
The decor was beautiful and work is still on going. The lounge was very nice and had hot drinks and an honesty bar, with plenty of games in the cupboard. We booked the suite and another room for the children, the only negative was the poor shower pressure in both the suite and the new bathroom.
The breakfast was the best I've had in a longtime, esp the homemade bread and jams, the whisky porridge and the salmon and eggs. To top it off you can sit and watch the amazing bird life right outside the window. We counted 3 woodpeckers one morning!
We hope to return one day soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad you had such a good time. The lodge is over 110 years old and we do suffer from very low water pressure at time, but we do ensure there is always sufficient hot water available for all our guests to shower/bath in the mornings - although the pressure will be effected if everyone is using water at the same time - sorry.
I am pleased that while not ideal for you, the water pressure does not prevent you wanting to come again. I look forward to welcoming you again sometime. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location just up the road from the Grizedale visitor centre and walking/biking trails, as well as Go Ape. Discounts offered by the last two for guests at Grizedale lodge.

The owners are working hard to improve the guest experience...by the time of writing all rooms should have been upgraded. Food is very good. Honour bar in the guest lounge is a nice touch.

Note no town or village within walking distance.

Very welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Some have views over the valley..others the farmyard next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. With Go-Ape and mountain bike hire being only 400m away it is very convenient for guests to use both of these and as you say discounts are available (Go-Ape does not give a discount on Saturdays or Bank Holiday weekends). The last two rooms due for re-refurbishment are planned for this winter, so should be all completed by Spring 2014.
The nearest pub is 2 miles away, and can be walked, as Debs and I often do, but more so in the summer months. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed our weekend stay to Grizedale Lodge and the surrounding Grizedale Forest area. It's such a lovely place to be in the Lakes.

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and were happy with our room, which was decorated nicely and spotlessly clean with lovely towels and bed linen. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning which was top quality and nicely presented. As we ate breakfast we were entertained by the wildlife at the window, even glimpsing a woodpecker who came to say hello!

All in all, a very nice place to enjoy the Grizedale Forest area and would recommend others pay a visit too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Debs makes a lot of effort to ensure the linen and towels are very good quality, and this is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us, hence the move from bath towels to bath sheets as these are larger and more comfortable. We do get a wide variety of birds coming at breakfast but I agree spotting the woodpecker always gets the most interest! All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely relaxing break. The food was well cooked and presented. The room was clean and well looked after. We took our dog and she was totally at home, (she loved the breakfast). A 5 minute walk down the road found us in beautiful forest walks and activities ie Go Ape at the Grizedale visitor centre. All in all a lovely friendly place to stay. I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is an ideal location for dog walking, with so many possibilities from the front door. With all the other amenities at the visitor centre, you can stay for a weekend and not have to use the car - something many guests have commented on and done! I hope you are able to return sometime. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A great place to stay. Out of the way and surrounded by wildlife. It's only a five minute walk to the Grizedale Go Ape, but you'd never know it by the silence around you. The breakfast service was grand, as was the whiskey porridge - I was skeptical before I ate it, but I'm converted now. You must have it!

We had Richard as a contact when we were there and he was very attentive and excellent with remembering names. Impressive. There is an impressive selection of DVDs for everyone in the family - adults and kids, and it's a great way to wind down after a busy day around Windemere or Grizedale Forest.

Room Tip: We were in room #3, facing the front of the guesthouse. It was a beautiful room and the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased your have converted to the whiskey porridge - it is much talked about and enjoyed by our guests, and even by me on a cold morning! The DVD collection is surprisingly well used, as it is often nice to just relax and watch an old favourite in the comfort of your room. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of 5 (kids 8 and under) stayed here for 2 nights in June. It was the second time we'd stayed at Grizedale lodge. On both occasions we found the owners very welcoming and friendly. The room which accommodated all of us comfortably was fantastic with it's character and sympathetic decor. We took advantage of the evening meal on offer (as well as the tasty breakfasts) as this was a much more relaxing option than taking our young family out. The menu provided a good selection and decent value as well as being very nice. The location is ideal for exploring Grizedale forest, a nature reserve with a variety of walks and Go Ape, and is a lovely tranquil spot. Slightly off the beaten track for the more touristy attractions but still within easy reach by car. Would certainly recommend to couples and families who are looking for a peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are fortunate in having a large double room that can accommodate 3 'Z' beds (for children up to 12 years old) as well as a large sofa and double bed, ideal for families of 5 as you say. The room is also ideal for guests who stay for a longer break, as there is plenty of room to spread out! I hope you are able to visit again sometime. All the best Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grizedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizedale Lodge

Address: Hawkshead, Grizedale LA22 0QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grizedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grizedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grizedale Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizedale Lodge is a former hunting lodge set in the breathtaking setting of Grizedale Forest, just two miles from the famous village of Hawkshead, with its quaint historic shops, pubs and restaurants. Under new ownership since April 2011, this friendly high quality guest house welcomes walkers, cyclists, couples and families alike. Home cooked breakfast is included,; there's free parking on-site and well behaved dogs are welcome at a small charge. Grizedale Lodge recently gained a TripAdvisor award for achieving exceptional reviews on a continual basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grizedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizedale Hotel Hawkshead
Grizedale Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grizedale Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.