We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kota Restaurant

Kota Restaurant
Harbour Head, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9JA, England
+44 (0)1326 562407
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, British, New Zealand, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Awarded a Bib Gourmand in the Michelin Guide 2013, Kota is also proud to be recognized by the Good Food Guide, Harden’s Restaurant Guide, the Trencherman’s Guide, Square Meal and the AA (with one Rosette). Kota is also part of Cornish Accredited Restaurants and has been praised many times in both local and national editorials, including The Times and The Telegraph. Kota was named in the Top 50 Summer Restaurants in Britain in August 09, and voted ‘The Big Eat’ in the top 10 pan-Asian eateries July 2008.)This publicity, together with word of mouth, attracts many locals, as well as foodies from Padstow, Bristol and London seeking a weekend of fun, fine dining and stunning coastal walks. And don’t miss out on a ‘Storm-watching’ break during those wild winter months (great B&B deals to be had!Chef/owner Jude Kereama is a New Zealander who has won awards for his restaurants in both London and Auckland before moving down to Cornwall.Kota specializes in organic fish and farm produce and has an exciting daily changing menu.Kota is Maori for shellfish (Jude is half Maori, quarter Chinese and quarter Malaysian) and the restaurant is renowned for its stunning seafood with Jude’s signature light Asian twist.Jude and his wife Jane, who started as a protégée of Antony Worrall Thompson 20 years ago, are passionate about wine as well as food and have created an enticing wine list of over 90 wines from all over the world. Even Decanter Magazine has praised it!There is a lovely bar area where guests can enjoy fine wine, cocktails, cold beer or a warming digestif.Don’t forget to book a room so you can truly relax!
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to Kota this year. Decided this time to go a la carte, was not disappointed. As a pre starter tried their two types of oysters one being cooked, the other served on ice with lime exquisite. Both starters were perfectly cooked scallops done to perfection. We both had different fish dishes hake with king prawns and squid, and brill with lobster ravioli and they were equally superb. Decided to share a dessert decomposed cheesecake finished the meal off. Service was excellent there when wanted unobtrusive when engaged in conversation. Possibly back again before end of week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    38
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went on a truly miserable wet, windy evening but we were welcomed warmly by the staff at the restaurant. Had a lovely window table and the staff were attentive with out over doing it. The ambience of Kota restaurant was just right and particularly the lighting was, nothing is worst than eating a beautifully presented meal in bad lighting so that you can not appreciated the skill of the chefs work. The dishes were amazing and I chose fish for both courses which were fabulous to look at and to eat. Both dishes were decorated with edible flowers which I have to say was a first for me. Desert for me was the chocolate fondant that we needed to wait 20 mins, but I tell you it's worth the wait - heaven on a plate. Just to clarify the desert was made to order and you appreciate the wait to enjoy your final dish. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine with our meal at reasonable price. Overall a truly fabulous experience and one that we hope will be repeated again!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beware of ordering from the set menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although we had starters from the main menu, I selected the main course from the set menu. (Paying the appropriate upgraded price). It was advertised as a pan fried fillet of fish and a sea food risotto. I anticipated small pieces of fish in the risotto, however, it was only cooked in fish water, served with 4 mussels. It was extremely bland and relied on the small fillet of fish for flavour. The starters and my husband's vegetarian fish and chips from the main menu were delicious, so I think it was my mistake ordering from the set menu without the benefit of set menu prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Truly scrumptious......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food and service at Kota Restaurant is among the best I've ever experienced. Delicious plates of melt in the mouth food, with wonderful flavours. The service is excellent, with attentive staff that have got it just right. It all seems effortlessly put together to deliver the best experience but this level of food and service must have taken a lot of time, money and effort. Whether it's for a special occasion, holiday, or just because....... Please visit Kota, I feel you'll have missed out on something special, if you don't......

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have been coming to this Restaurant for years and it was my favourite Restaurant but sadly i don't think i will go again. There is not enough quantity in the main courses and there was an hour's wait imbetween the starters and main course. The restaurant was not busy and there were only 5 of us. This is the experience we had a couple of years ago but decided to give it a go again only to have the same experience unfortunately. Having said that the quality and presentation of the food remains good and i have always found the waitresses friendly and proffessional. The service of the main course is just to slow though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kota Restaurant also viewed

Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Kota Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kota Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.