We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbour Inn to your Saves list
Harbour Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Commercial Rd, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Porthleven B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We went here while on holiday and it was so good we returned again. I had crab salad the first time i went, it was the first time i had tried crab and i havent looked back since. The next time i had steak as did my partner and again it was fab and we often compare anywhere else we go to the steak we had here, as yet we have not found one to top it. It is in a lovely location on the harbour and when we were there it was great to be able to sit out on the harbour side in the evening sun. Great food, great service would go every week if it wasnt a 14 hour round trip.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
41
72
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We popped into this pub after a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed. The fish and chips were delicious with a lovely light beer batter. I'm not a lover of Porthleven as I feel it is a cold and dour village without any real atmosphere, but the pub makes up for this.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Visited here a couple of weeks ago. The restaurant was busy, which is always a good sign. We were shown to our table by a friendly waitress. Our order was taken and although they were busy, the food arrived promptly. It was hot and tasty. The waitress returned a little later to check if everything was ok. My elderly parents loved their meal. The menu had an excellent variety, all at a reasonable price. Will be returning soon and would also like to try the Sunday roast.

Room Tip: Only ate here, so cannot review the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is perfect in every possible way....

The welcome I got was extremely warm & friendly....the room was spotless and warm with a VERY comfortable bed and a high class power shower.
The breakfast was sensational with a lot of choice including my all time favourite of Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs.
There were 3 types of bread which you can make you own toast with....and they even had Decaf filter coffee !!
The dinner the night before was also exceptional with 1st class service at all times.

Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Any room would be good I suspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It fully lived up to expectations and will stay again. Rooms were clean and comfortable, the beds especially so as noted in the visitors book! Typical pub food well cooked and presented and the breakfasts were first class.Some local fresh veg would be a welcome addition to the dishes on the menu. The staff were very friendly and if you want to know about local walks just ask Lizzie, she is a gem.

Room Tip: If you stay on Friday or Saturday ask for a quiet room as they have Karaoke on Friday and live bands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Much better than I expected, nice rooms and clean. Only downside my room had a rubbish view . Noise from the bar below can carry up to your room but was quite enough when I retired to bed. Choice of breakfast menu males a change rather than typical full English you have an option of fish and more than one varity.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This isn't a "posh pub" but it does serve good food and drinks. Staff are really friendly and they even have Camel Valley Champagne - not cheap but for a special occasion, fab. We have just moved here and we are going to the quiz evening on Thursdays. We were made to feel very welcome and will probably use this as our local. Had an amazing crab and prawn salad.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed here so cannot comment on those aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Inn

Address: Commercial Rd, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Porthleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Porthleven
Harbour Inn Porthleven, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.