We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room with a view worth a more than you have to pay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Mordros Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Mordros Hotel
Peverall Terrace | Porthleven, Porthleven, Helston TR1 9DZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Porthleven
Florida, United States
1 review
“a room with a view worth a more than you have to pay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

this small hotel ,high on a hill is worth every penny. we were greeted on arrival by leave luggage it will be in your room.imagine at any holiday inn having that said to you.nice bedroom en suite comfortable bed ,plenty of places to store clothing etc. breakfast served full and i mean full or continental.No i did not forget view but how can someone describe a view which must be seen no matter what the weather is.THE JEWEL IN THIS HOTEL ARE THE OWNERS SANDY AND SOON TO BE HUBBY RUSSEL.then 3minutes walk you are in the Alantic Pub where if you have been before they will remember you good food and good cornish beer

Room Tip: front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to see you both again, nice to catch up. Hopefully see you both real soon. Best wishes Mr and Mrs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The An Modros Hotel is more of a B&B so if you are expecting a hotel you will be disappointed. That said, however, it is a comfortable B&B with good service in a great location with amazing views over the harbour.
Although the decor is a little tired I would not have any hesitation in recommending An Modros for a short-break in Porthleven.
It is very comfortable and clean and benefits from absolutely stunning views over Porthleven harbour. It is also very centrally located with the harbour just a short few minute walk away.
Porthleven is a beautiful village and well worth a visit if you are in Cornwall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. Best wishes Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Thanks for a great experiance in your wonderful village. Great accommodation, fantastic views, excellent breakfast and above all incredible service. Being from Australia, this was a package we were unaccustomed to.
Best wishes for the big day.
Nick & Lori

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Niki and Lori thank you for your lovely review and our Big day was amazing even the sun shone. Best wishes Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We visited this lovely little hotel on our honeymoon tour of Cornwall , the room was clean , comfortable and with what is probably the best view of porthleven you could ask for , the patrons were very friendly with a lot of consideration given to guests comfort , all I can say is thank you for making our stay so nice

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are glad you noticed our little touches and enjoyed some of your honeymoon with us. We wish you all the best for the future . Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived without a booking and were much relieved when they had a vacancy. Our room was on the top floor (only one floor) and although not very large was very cute and nice and sunny on a cold and blustery afternoon. It had a bay window with a table and 2 chairs where one could sit and enjoy the view while having a cup of tea. It had the most incredible views of the little port which will stay with us forever. The owner was very friendly and very helpful on where to go and what to do. As they are only B & B there was a pub/restaurant in the same street which served delicious and reasonalbly priced meals. Breakfast at the Hotel as also very good.

Room Tip: Ask for room Nr 1 or 2 on the top floor overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came down for a few days and will be back. We usually stay in Helston, but fancied something a little different this year and weren't disappointed. The room was lovely, the breakfast substantial and the whole ambiance relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just come back from a lovely week in Cornwall and stayed for a couple of nights at the hotel before moving onto our rental property. Lovely clean room with fantastic views of the harbour. Both Russell and Sandy made us feel very welcome and the breakfasts were lovely. Will hopefully be back, thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely but rooms with a view amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandrakely, Owner at An Mordros Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you vey much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards Sandy and Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to An Mordros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Mordros Hotel

Address: Peverall Terrace | Porthleven, Porthleven, Helston TR1 9DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Porthleven
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With outstanding views over Porthleven harbour the An Mordros is a family run hotel. Facilities include a cozy bar lounge and sea facing patio area. Elegantly furnished, all bedrooms include TV, hair driers, hospitality trays. All rooms are en-suite and some have incredible sea and harbour views. Free Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Mordros Porthleven
An Mordros Hotel Porthleven, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Mordros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added An Mordros Hotel to your Saves list