We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close but no cigar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Square At Porthleven

The Square At Porthleven
7 Fore Street, Porthleven, Helston, England
01326 573911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 restaurants in Porthleven
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close but no cigar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Square was our second choice behind SeaDrift which was full. We were squeezed in by the friendly staff - the ambience is a little stuffy and generally the feeling here is that the restaurant is really a little better than it really is.
The menu is varied and local and the wine list decent. It isn't cheap but the food is decent enough - we enjoyed a delicious meal but it isn't quite as good as it thinks it is.

The staff were a little inattentive - e.g. we shared bread and olives to start and this hadn't been cleared when the main course arrived. There were numerous delays in taking orders and delivering food - that said it was busy and we were squeezed is so I was delighted to get a seat.
If they could lose the delusions of grandeur it would be top notch, as it is it's very very good

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    99
    44
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“large group.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

ate here with a group of friends. all in all fantastic, the seating was rearranged to accommodate us all and unfortunately some of the low hanging lights made contact with our heads several times during the evening. service was a little on the slow side - but the food is well worth the wait. would recommend eating here. worth a visit, also there is an option for a three course meal for £20 - which is wonderful if you fancy any of the items on offer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great venue, amazing food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Sunday Easter Lunch: couldn't choose a better place where to go. This place serves delicious food at a reseanoble price. I had a delectable arancini dish, delicious fishcake with cips and divine creme brulé.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic value For Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a welcome addition to the Porthleven restaurant scene. The food was up to the quality of the brilliant Victoria Inn (owned by the same people) and fantastic value for money. We started with a rich, luxurious duck liver and port pate, followed by a main of pork fillet, black pudding, pork cheek bubble and squeak and smoked bacon cassoulet – inventive and full of big punchy flavours. We finished with a milk parfait and chocolate brownie. All this for £20.00 for three courses, amazing value for money! But beware, it does get busy so would suggest you book well ahead. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely venue poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited The Square for the first time after reading the excellent reviews. Four of us ordered the rib eye steaks at just under £19.00. I felt the presentation was not as expected,I was presented with a thin piece of steak (in which three quarters of it was fat), a slice of tomato, two onion rings, followed by a bowl of overcooked hard chips, I diplomatically mentioned the amount of fat on my steak to the waitress and was told its a fatty cut of meat. People want value for money especially in the present financial climate and as the previous reviewer mentioned some additional touches such as vegetables/ salad and something to give the plate some interest.Wont be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square At Porthleven also viewed

 

Been to The Square At Porthleven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Square At Porthleven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.