We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moonflower Restaurant

Moonflower Restaurant
Church View, Porthleven, Helston, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 21 Restaurants in Porthleven
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Wanted to make a review as this really was a bad restaurant and their food was unedible.
Bourne End, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Ordered our first takeaway from here this week, having been coming to Porthleven for the last 7 years. Sorry Moonflower it was not good, duck, chicken Cantonese so so dry and tasteless I can honestly say worst takeaway I have ever had we won't be back, especially as there are other venues in the village to eat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rank”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Delivery was over an hour late food was dis gusting the containers were not even sealed resulting in a bag full of sauce ! Don't go there !!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Used the take away service a year ago as we live in the village and it was bad decided to give it a second chance and it was worse booked an hour before delivery time and still arrived half an hour late chicken tastes like it came out of a tin everything else was brought in from the frozen section of a supermarket.
Go into Helston if you want a proper chinese

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This used to be a fantastic Chinese take away and I wouldn't get it from anywhere else. Had it recently and was very disappointed as I was the previous time. I thought it may have been a bad night, but the second time it was the same. Crispy beef should be crispy, not soggy and chewy. The rest of the order just wasn't as good either. I will give this one more try, so please bring back the great food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Moonflower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I live in the area there is a small delivery charge which is worth it and is stated on the menu. The hot plates in the restaurant are amazing, I recommend the mushroom rice in the restaurant it's enough to feed 3 people easy and very cheap for the size. The staff are always friendly. I have never had a bad meal yet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonflower Restaurant also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Moonflower Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonflower Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.