We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Top Chippy

The Top Chippy
Fore Street, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9HJ, England
01326 554046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 restaurants in Porthleven
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Five minutes before closing for the evening I was served with delicious freshly cooked haddock and crispy chips. Thank you - it was delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    70
    10
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Been a few times & never disappointed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always visit this chip shop every time we come to Cornwall and we have found it to be the best one in the area! I must say that we have never been disappointed and neither have any of our friends (as we recommend it to anyone going anywhere near!) so we were surprised to see the earlier review from Jon K! The fish is locally sourced - none of your frozen imported stuff - and everything is freshly cooked! We have certainly never found portion size to be a problem. The owners are very friendly and accomodating, for example, although they don't sell mugs of tea, they are happy for you to buy one from next door & bring it in to sit at their tables and enjoy your meal! On the whole its a great little shop in a lovely unspoilt little harbour village. 5 stars from us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A good fish and chip shop, not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I visited this chippy with a friend after reccomandations from friends. I have to say I was disappointed. You are only allowed one size of serving which unfortunately doesn't really fill you up. The chips were all small and we both had a lot of off cuts and burnt ends which we ended up throwing away. This is a good chip shop don't get me wrong but I would by no means put it in the excellent bracket due to fixed portion size and poor chips.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It really is as good as everyone says!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We popped in for lunch and had a good chat with the owners who hail from Staffordshire (as does my husband). Freshly cooked hake and haddock were on the menu with chips made from Cornish potatoes. Sat at one of the little tables in the window watching the rain coming down and wouldn't have wanted to be anywhere else at that moment in time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cotswolds to Cornwall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

On a trip to Cornwall to visit my parents in near by Leedstown, it was a very stormy day so I took the children to Porthlevan where the massive waves crash over the lighthouse.

After nearly catching hypothermia, everyone demanded chips!! Fortunately we found the best chip shop in Cornwall. Lovely food and great value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Top Chippy also viewed

 

Been to The Top Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Top Chippy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.