We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Crag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthleven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Crag B&B
Save
You added Beacon Crag B&B to your Saves list
Beacon Crag, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Porthleven B&B and Inns
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This B&B really has everything. A superb location on the coast; easy access to the many restaurants and other attractions in Porthleven ( 10 minute walk if the weather and light are suitable, along the cliffs); welcoming hosts; and a great breakfast choice. A let down when leaving to realise that the sea views from the bedroom window have come to an end.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A fantastic B&B, just a short walk from Porthleven up the coastal path. A lovely house well decorated and tasteful. We had a great room and very friendly hosts and a good breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I spent 7 glorious nights at Beacon Crag and we loved it. We were allocated room 1 which overlooked the sea. An absolutely amazing sight. Both Stuart and Sam were great, especially Stuart who gave us lots of information on where to visit. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Stratford on Avon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Me and my partner recently stayed at Beacon Crag for a weeks B&B. The B&B is signposted and easily accessed from Porthleven and stands alone in acres of grounds. The view as you approach down the driveway is awesome and we never tired of this. Sam made us feel most welcome during our stay, although she was confined to the kitchen at breakfast time as her husband Stuart was away for the duration of our stay. She was ably assisted by her mother and friend during this time. Our breakfasts were always perfectly cooked and presented and there was plenty of choice in this respect. Our room had the most fantastic views of the sea with through a massive bay window and there were two seats provided so we could sit and admire the view. The location really couldn't be better - if you want a dramatic cliff top setting with views to match this is the place for you. It is right on the South West Coast path so there is easy access in both directions. It is only a 10 minute walk in to Porthleven which has a lovely harbour and plenty of shops and places to eat. There are plenty of places to visit nearby - we visited Lizard, Mullion, Cadgwith, Kynance Cove amongst other which are all within about 20 minutes away. Even a visit to St Ives on the north coast was only a short drive away.We would not hesitate to recommend staying at Beacon Crag.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

B&B located on a clifftop with a stunning view of the ocean... Superb breakfast and friendly owners made for a really pleasant stay [free wifi always welcome too so well done!!]. Will definitely be coming back if at all possible...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent a great deal of time looking at numerous properties in the Porthleven area before settling on Beacon Crag.

Why did we choose it - well we liked the look of the property, its is located about half a mile from the town - shorter if you take the walk through the fields. The house has no immediate neighbours, it is quiet and has uninterrupted views of the coast and the ocean - just spectacular.

The rooms were large and comfortable, with all the amenities you would expect in a B&B. We stayed in room #2 - the bathroom was large with an even better view of the coast and the distant stack from an abandoned mine shaft - very Cornish.

Our hosts were more than helpful on a number of fronts - advice regarding restaurants, help in collecting parcels and suggestions regarding things to do.

What are the limitations of this property, quite minor really - no credit cards is a minus. So too is the lack of a communal lounge. For us this wasn't a particular issue as we sat and took in the view. For some the distance from town might be an issue, however for us it added to the experience - being in that lone house on the cliff was a plus.

Overall, we were more than pleased with our stay and would recommend Beacon Crag - very much so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Me and my brother-in-law recently walked from Polperro to Sennen Cove along the Southwest Coastal Path and we found ourselves in Porthleven on our 5th night. The Beacon Crag is conveniently situated just on the Southwest Coast Path as you make your way out of The Picturesque Town of Porthleven.

On arrival We was greeted with a friendly smile and warm welcome from Sam who was very kind and helpful and everything you would wish to expect from a host. I can't fault this place one bit, The rooms are very contemporary, The beds are comfy and the views great.

A nice variety of fruits, cereals and cooked breakfasts were offered from the menu and the food dissappoint. I'll def come back at some point and spend a little more time in and around Porthleven as it's a nice little town.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Crag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Crag B&B

Address: Beacon Crag, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Porthleven
Also Known As:
Beacon Crag B&B Porthleven, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Crag B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.