We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SeaDrift Kitchen Cafe

SeaDrift Kitchen Cafe
Fore Street, Porthleven, Helston TR139HJ, England
01326 558733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Porthleven
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautifully cooked fish. Very good value al servedLovely team. It would be my regular weekly treat if I lived closer. Highly recomend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    42
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Definitely pay the SeaDrift a visit whilst you're staying in Porthleven. The food is wonderful, proper sized portions and very very well cooked. Dinner was superb, but also give their breakfast a try, it puts some of the other restaurants in the town way in the shade .... I would definitely recommend booking dinner in advance as it gets very busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Book in advance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

There is a reason for advance booking this restaurant - it's very good and gets filled up quickly with both locals and visitors. Good range of season fish dishes and other specials. Home made bread arrives with the first drink and the staff are attentive but not intrustive. I had plaice fillets which were part of a two course 5.30 - 9pm offer and it was excellent. The prices are reasonable considering the content of the menu. However whoever thought up figs served with turkish delight ice cream was very wicked indeed. It was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I pre-booked this lovely small restaurant based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The meal was excellent, the service faultless and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed. A wonderful eating experience and one we would like to repeat on our next visit to Porthleven, which we hope will be in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Food !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you like fish then the Seadrift Cafe is for you. It is a must visit if you are in Porthleven. All food is locally sourced and cooked by the owner/chef who also comes out to ensure his customers are happy with their food. We booked 2 weeks in advance as they are fully booked every evening. This is definitely the number one restaurant in Porthleven and we will definitely be g long back next year. Thanks to Chris and Carla, keep it up, fabulous cafe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaDrift Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to SeaDrift Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaDrift Kitchen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.