We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More camping than glamping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm
Save
You added Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm to your Saves list
Madron, Penzance TR20 8PA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Madron B&B and Inns
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“More camping than glamping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed as a family of two adults, two teens and a ten year old in May for a week and although the rainy weather didn't help, the experience wasn't really as glam as we'd hoped. Although as the 'fridge' is a wooden chest with frozen water bottles in, perhaps it was good that it was cold. We've been traditional camping before and could have coped with that. However, personally, I think that as it's sold as 'glamping' - something which the price certainly suggests - over £800 for a week! it could have had that little extra. But it is just camping in a tent with a hard floor and duvets. Everything is 'extra' to the cost too so it soon adds up; logs, lamp oil, chicken coop...
Adrian and Maddie are without doubt very welcoming and the fresh morning croissants are second to none.
However, the pizzas we ordered were mainly garlic and could have been bought much cheaper from the supermarket down the road (as could most of the 'farm shop' items). Also, as they are done in a traditional pizza oven on 'Pizza night' and can only be done a few at a time, it does take ages to get them, which is not good with hungry children waiting, especially when they are burnt on arrival. The pictures in the brochure make it all very appealing especially the white duvets (who chose white for farms?!?) but, with no hot water other than if you lit the stove to boil the kettle we just found it a little tedious. Equally I guess, even if it was hot, you'd have to light the woodburning stove to get a cuppa anyway, which with the price of the logs you can do without. We just felt that access to some hot water (other than at the muddy shower block right next to the cow barn) may have made life a little more bearable. Days out are advised too as there is nothing else really to speak of, to do on site.
If you live in the town and never get to see the countryside, I can see the appeal but other than that we sadly didn't feel it was worth the money and was a bit oversold.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We recently stayed at Boswarthen Farm for a week and had an amazing time. Mad and Adrian are amazing hosts, who really do make sure that you have all that you need as you adjust to staying in a tent in a cow paddock. It was cold and wet, but our kids totally loved it, with other friendly families around and a farm for the kids to explore. We totally recommend this experience to anyone and with such great hosts - this farm is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just spent a week at Boswarthen farm and we had a fab time. Maddie and Adrian are fantastic hosts, they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The concept of featherdown farms is great however, it was cold last week of a night! Although have to say the extra quilts came in very very handy. The kids loved it and I would definately recommend a long long walk through the fields of the farm, getting to know the animals, it's fantastic. also try the clay pigeon shooting -Adrain came along in the morning, after he'd been up since 5am, and set it up for the guys, really really good and ll worth it. Consider taking games etc. for the children if (like us) you get a rainy rainy wet day. We did find an indoor play centre for them though but it can be hard work with limited things for them to do, when you're on a farm. We were also lucky enough to see a calf just as it had been born, the children loved it. Maddie and Adrian were happy to tell my husband all about the farm as he interviewed them! Just gotta do it, it's well worth the experience and we'll definately go back to Boswarthen - great farm with fantastic hosts, thanks for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

We spent three nights at Boswarthern Farm. The tents were great, really well equipped with very comfy beds and really cosy ....once we'd managed to keep the stove lit ! The hosts Madeline & Adrian were great as were their boys - very helpful and indeed tolerant of us 'townies'. It is expensive but a great alternative to a hotel , much more fun for both the adults and children. The location, near Penzance was ideal but there are farms in the 'Featherdown Farm' scheme across the UK. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm

Address: Madron, Penzance TR20 8PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Madron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Madron
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views from the tents of St Michaels Mount, beautiful beaches to the north and south and an outstanding reputation for hospitality, make this Feather Down Farm one of the best bases for Cornwall you can imagine. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feather Down Farms at Boswarthen Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.