We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Greek House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Upper Greek House to your Saves list
Upper Greek House
Yukari Mahalle Gazi Sokak No 56 | Ürgüp/Nevsehir, Mustafapasa, Urgup, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Mustafapasa B&B and Inns
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
2 reviews
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

In a few words this hotel is charming, peaceful, full of character, lovely rooms, marvelous view, excellent indoor/outdoor experience, and fantastic service.

Airport pick up by the reserved, kind and generous owner was the first of many examples of the wonderful service. The manager, D, a lively Turkish American women served as our regional guide, a source of great conversation and one night, a belly dance performance (at the equally marvelous restaurant down the hill, the Old Greek House). We (2 adults, 3 kids 6, 9, 11) loved having this place as our base to tour around the region. The town is off, but very close to, the beaten track -- it is like a walk back in time being there. The location of the hotel on the outskirts of Mustafapasha, on top of a hill, gives an added sense of seclusion without being isolated. In short, we absolutely loved our stay here and we ate by far our best meals (many, we stayed 6 days) in Turkey at the Old Greek House where service and setting are charming, authentic and intentional.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Upper Greek House (and the restaurant at the Old Greek House) is the perfect place to base yourself if you're touring Cappadocia. Outside the beaten track, you feel like you've been invited in someone's house. The staff is incredible and the food, almost all comes from local producers, is fresh and tasty. Beware the Cave Suite... a fantastic experience to sleep in a cave but god it was cold!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Upper Greek House was deffinitely the best place were we stayed during our tripp to Cappadokia. It is in a beautiful village outside the beaten track but again very close to the core of Cappadokias fairy chimney valleys. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpfull for accomodation and any activities you are likely to organize. The rooms are beautifully maintained, very cosy. The cousine of the restaurant is fantastic, be sure to try all the local specialties, especially manti. There are only nice memories to bring to mind from the Upper Greek House..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, Cornwall
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Characterful hotel, characterful owner, memorable stay. This is a perfect place to base yourself if you're touring Cappadocia. It's more like staying in someone's house, albeit with the advantages of a hotel. The manageress is Turkish/Californian and adds to the special ambience of the place. If you're looking for antiseptic efficiency, this is not for you... the hot water had a mind of its own and the wi-fi came and went at will (usually went). Turkish breakfast, with local bread and honey, on the terrace was a particular delight. I'd love to go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Upper Greek House, a wonderful boutique hotel sitting right in the lap of nature amidst the picturesque beauty of the Turkish landscape. The hotel does also reflect Turkish culture and tradition in all its services be it the rooms or the traditional Turkish breakfast. The staff at the hotel is very hospitable there is an English speaking lady there to help you out in whatever need there is. All in all the amount of fun I had in tours I had the same experience in the hotel. The staff at the hotel at the restaurant is very hospitable. There is an English speaking lady at any time you need her if u cannot communicate with the locals or anything at all. The food is really appetizing and there was no problem for us vegetarians. It is a must stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We can not put our experience in words better than mr. Terry C. already did.
He describes exactly how we felt.
We will not try to surpass him.

Jaap en Ietje, The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Upper Greek House was a perfect ending to a two week tour of Turkey. We were fortunate to spend five wonderful nights and had fantastic dinners each night at the Old Greek House resturant. The manager speaks fluent English and was always there to make every day a special one. Every room is decorated with care and interesting local flavor. The staff and managers of both facilities make you feel like family. Highly recommended with a memerable visit to Cappodocia region.
Terry and Shirley

Room Tip: The manager will assist you to find the best room for your visit. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Upper Greek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Greek House

Address: Yukari Mahalle Gazi Sokak No 56 | Ürgüp/Nevsehir, Mustafapasa, Urgup, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mustafapasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Greek House at the top of the Village of Mustafapasa, Turkey. Drink tea or famous locally grown wine while sitting on one of the lovely high terraces overlooking the village and surrounding hillsides. Eat and be entertained at the Old Greek House, famous for its authentic Turkish food, served in the same setting for over 300 years. All rooms furnished in the ancient Greek/Turkish style include private, modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Upper Greek House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Greek House Mustafapasa, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Greek House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.