We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel to your Saves list
Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel
Sinasos Village, Mustafapasa, Urgup 50420, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Mustafapasa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I can't say enough about how wonderful our visit to the Old Greek House was. We stayed 3 nights and dined there twice. The owner and his family were inviting, friendly and helpful. The food was great and the quiet, comfortable room made the stay in the Cappadocia region of Turkey fantastic. The rooms are rustic but functional, soooo very quiet. I loved it. Had to ask once about the lack of hot water and they immediately remedied the issue. The homeyness was so nice after weeks on the road. The laundry and maid service were fantastic. Even though it's been over a year since our trip, I often think of this place. Should have written the review long ago!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room upstairs at the Old Greek House but others expressed good comments on the newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    20
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you happen to be in Urgup TURKEY you have to eat in this great restaurant, it is a little hotel during the summer, and this time of year, february is just a restaurant.
The food is the best, real turkish food.
Niyazi , one of the family owners was very nice.
Dont miss it¡

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went to Mustafapasa as part of our tour and our guide recommended us here. Can't comment on the rooms since we did not stay there. Went for lunch. Rustic and has an open courtyard downstairs and also upstairs with a great view. We selected to sit at the open courtyard area but not indoors which I think will be stuffy. It was a pleasant sunny day with light streaming into the courtyard, although it was still cold in the winter. We were offered tomato dip and mayonnaise/ yoghurt mix with turkish bread which came immediately after we ordered. The former was tastier and went well with the bread. I ordered a cold appetizer which is the stuffed grape leaf plate. Came warm. Smallish sized wrap - very tasty indeed with lots of flavor. My husband ordered the minced meat dish with yogurt which was very delicious too and wiped clean his plate with the bread. I also had the opportunity to get a snapshot at the kitchen - I kept seeing food coming out from the kitchen door and was very curious to see the real action. Huge kitchen with 2 local ladies working diligently. No wonder the food tasted exceptional good - All the dishes are individually and freshly prepared on stove. Friendly service. Prices are not exactly cheap for a small town but is definitely a place to go to if passing through or staying in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ürgüp, Türkiye
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a tourist guide working in Cappadocia, Old Greek House Reataurant is my favorite restaurant for lunch ( also the dinner is served ). Mustafapaşa is famous for devastating Greek Houses and this restaurant - hotel is the best example of them.
Apart from feelig the footprints of this old mansion, really fresh, diligently prepared food is served. For me the most important points; there are a lot of options in the menu, reasonable price and each of them is prepared by local ladies. Also they are served to you with smiling faces of professional team - Erdal,İbrahim, Erdem - Without hesistation for your meal I highly recommend this reataurant . At least you should have experience to be guest of this Beatiful Old Greek House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in September while on a tour. Loved this piece of history. We were lucky to get one of the cave rooms off the dining room. Huge room with high, vaulted ceilings, very cool in the hot, late summer. No window ~~ but it's a cave room. Creaky wooden floors make you wonder about the room's previous incarnation as a store room. The food is great, ambiance is truly unique, with its open air dining room. The whole family works here. We watched the ladies of the house chatting while shelling peas for our dinner later that night. I felt like a guest in their home. They are very welcoming and will tell you all about the hotel's long history. A wonderful change from formulaic cookie cutter hotels.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Turkey. My husband and I have stayed here twice. We love the old house (which is not just a fancy, restored, almost historic building, but the original house). We love the village, the breakfasts, the dinners, and the family. Old Greek House gives one of the warmest and unpretentious welcomes that you will receive anywhere.

Insallah gelecek yil gorusuruz! Bin tesekkurler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Incredible indoor/outdoor eating area on the floor level. Adorable white cat with kittens on the patio area. Women hung laundry on the rooftop where their was a view of the vegetable garden below. A very cultural experience at the Greek House and in the surrounding city. Stone Architecture was amazing. Family run and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel

Address: Sinasos Village, Mustafapasa, Urgup 50420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mustafapasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion known as "Asmali Konak" for years is one of the traditional old Greek Houses in fact. Now, it is in service as a hotel named "Old Greek House". The house has built in 1887, then in 1924; it was given to a family of Salonica as a result of the agreement of the commission for the settlement of the exchange immigrants. In 1938, the house was bought for 10 Turkish Liras by ancestor of Ozturks family, who came to the city as a teacher at that time. Ozturks Family has been lived here until 1992. As of 1992, the house has been designed as a hotel. Now, the hotel attracts attention of customers and visitors by its old traditional style and furniture. In addition, an Italian film "Dervish and his Death" (Dervis ve Olumu) was filmed in that place. Also, Turkey's most popular TV channel is still taking one of its films, "Asmali Konak" in this mansion. OLD GREEK HOUSE (OZTURK HOTEL). Hotel Capacity: 13 Rooms, 32 Beds. Rooms with pleasent view. Ruin and historical views are available. Facilities: Central heating, safe box at reception, 24 hrs room service, outdoor parking, turkish bath, laundry, dry cleaning, baby sitter, tv room, game room, garden, power generator and pets are allowed. Sports and Recreation: Jogging and trekking. Dining: Full board, half board, bed & breakfast, cafeteria and breakfast lounge, 6 open buffet restaurants, 50 pax indoor, 100 pax outdoor total capacity, international and Turkish cuisine. Please visit "Turkish Cuisine" page to get more information about our menu and foods. Meeting: 1 meeting room, (50 max. capacity), video player, television and facsimile. Location: Urgup 5 Km., Nevsehir airport 55 km. Kayseri airport 75 Km. in old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Greek House Restaurant Hotel Mustafapasa
Old Greek House Restaurant And Hotel Mustafapasa, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.