We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old house, lots of atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel to your Saves list
Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel
Sinasos Village, Mustafapasa, Urgup 50420, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Mustafapasa B&B and Inns
PA, USA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Old house, lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here because the Rick Steve tour took us here. We enjoyed it, though with some reservations. The house itself is full of character and the dining area in the courtyard is great. But the stairs can be hazardous. The steps are high and uneven. The first room we got had a tiny window and no circulation. Of course, there is no air conditioning. We got changed to a better room and that was OK. Mustafapasa is a tiny quiet village. If you like being in a lay back place, this is it.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Book here because price is reasonable, location is perfect, staff is stunningly helpful and amenable, and best f all the rooms are fabulous. Book an "estates" room and enjoy.

Room Tip: Book a cave room (they're modern and perfect for the area) or spring for the suite in the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel and if you want a smart place this is a good choice. However if it is not the height of summer it is no good to eat there because the beautiful restaurant is outside and open to the elements. We had dressed up to go out there for the evening and were frozen. Other people sat in there winter coats to eat. The food was good but not as good as we ate elsewhere in the town and more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stopped by here having heard that the food was good. That was an understatement. It was fabulous! Our little one slept through the meal, so on our way out we were presented with a plate of manti, freshly made, that were out of this world. It was the best meal we had in Turkey, and we are true foodies.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

I had an upstairs room to myself. Cozy and comfortable. The stairs to the room are a bit uneven and you must proceed with caution at night but the building is very old. I felt it added to the ambiance. Mr Suleyman, the owner was very gracious. He went out of his way to get stamps for me to mail my postcards and would take no tip for his efforts. The food is authentic Turkish family-style and very good. Plenty to eat every meal. I enjoyed my 3 nights here and was sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

On a recent stay at this wonderfully preserved old inn, we were warmly welcomed by the knowledgeable, friendly staff. Climbing the ancient, uneven stairs, and entering through a traditionally low doorway, we were delighted to find our historical room had an updated, ensuite bath with - wonderful surprise - lots of hot water and great water pressure! We delighted in eating delicious Turkish food served either Ottoman style, reclining on cushions in a private room, or seated at a table in the salon, A lovely open, vine-covered terrace accommodates visitors for dining during spring, summer and fall. Exploring the antique decor and ancient carpet covered walls of this lovely, historical inn, one can almost hear echoes of the laughter from generations of families who once lived and played here. We’ll always remember how magical was our visit to the Old Greek Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is a beautifully preserved historical property in the heart of quaint Mustaphapasa. The Old Greek House retains the historical nature of the old stone building with original staircases and yet boasts upgraded sleeping and bathing facilities. The staff are attentive, helpful and kind. We were immediately at ease and felt like they would do anything for us. The food is authentic and by far the best we have experienced in Turkey. This place is a 10. We will stay here everytime.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel

Address: Sinasos Village, Mustafapasa, Urgup 50420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Mustafapasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mustafapasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion known as "Asmali Konak" for years is one of the traditional old Greek Houses in fact. Now, it is in service as a hotel named "Old Greek House". The house has built in 1887, then in 1924; it was given to a family of Salonica as a result of the agreement of the commission for the settlement of the exchange immigrants. In 1938, the house was bought for 10 Turkish Liras by ancestor of Ozturks family, who came to the city as a teacher at that time. Ozturks Family has been lived here until 1992. As of 1992, the house has been designed as a hotel. Now, the hotel attracts attention of customers and visitors by its old traditional style and furniture. In addition, an Italian film "Dervish and his Death" (Dervis ve Olumu) was filmed in that place. Also, Turkey's most popular TV channel is still taking one of its films, "Asmali Konak" in this mansion. OLD GREEK HOUSE (OZTURK HOTEL). Hotel Capacity: 13 Rooms, 32 Beds. Rooms with pleasent view. Ruin and historical views are available. Facilities: Central heating, safe box at reception, 24 hrs room service, outdoor parking, turkish bath, laundry, dry cleaning, baby sitter, tv room, game room, garden, power generator and pets are allowed. Sports and Recreation: Jogging and trekking. Dining: Full board, half board, bed & breakfast, cafeteria and breakfast lounge, 6 open buffet restaurants, 50 pax indoor, 100 pax outdoor total capacity, international and Turkish cuisine. Please visit "Turkish Cuisine" page to get more information about our menu and foods. Meeting: 1 meeting room, (50 max. capacity), video player, television and facsimile. Location: Urgup 5 Km., Nevsehir airport 55 km. Kayseri airport 75 Km. in old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Greek House Restaurant Hotel Mustafapasa
Old Greek House Restaurant And Hotel Mustafapasa, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Greek House Restaurant and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.