We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why so bitter reviewers? Go with proper expectations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seehotel Sternen Beckenried

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seehotel Sternen Beckenried to your Saves list
Seehotel Sternen Beckenried
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Buochserstrasse 54, Beckenried 6375, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Beckenried B&B and Inns
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Why so bitter reviewers? Go with proper expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I booked this hotel absolutely last minute in October. And it was great! The views from the rooms are killer. The breakfast is huge, varied and tasty. The reception is straight from the 1980s but at least comes with internet. The staff is not overly enthusiastic. The rooms are spartan and clean. FYI: In Europe you rarely get a top sheet, so if you want that, bring your own! For $30/pp with breakfast and parking, this hotel was a steal.

Room Tip: Get a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
2
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gharb, GOZO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I booked this Hotel as it said it had a Restaurant but it was closed other than for breakfast.
No coffee/tea facilities in room.
Room not cleaned for the 3 day stay.
Asked Reception about the ski lift in the town (which is why I had booked there in the first place) and she knew nothing and told me to drive 30/40mins to Engleburg...if I had wanted to ski there I would have booked a Hotel there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I booked this hotel as it said it had a restaurant for evening meals. I arrived at 18.00, after a long drive, to find they had closed it 'that week'. No advance notice. No apology. Nothing to drink, not even a tea or coffee in the room. Find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This hotel is probably the worse of the lot in our Contiki holiday hotels. Biggest issue-

We stayed here for 2 nights and there is no hot water for the 1st night and the next

morning! To be fair, the staff tried to get an electrician to fix the problem at night but

it can't be fixed. They were very apologitic about the issue.

Next issue, the room we stayed in had an error for the hot/cold sign for the shower. The

hot side is actually the cold side and I spent a good whole 15mins waiting for the warm

water to come on, thinking that the problem is still not fixed when the reception said

it's resolved.

It is also rather odd to have the basin in the room instead of the toilet/bathroom. so you

had to come out of the bathroom to wash your hands each time. No bath in this room (i

can't see how they can fit it in anyway) and the area for the shower is really tiny. No

shelves to put your toileries. Shower curtain is also quite old and dirty.

Beds are alright (2 single beds joined together) except there are no sheets provided. One

english channel avaliable on the TV. Luckily for us there is a window roller shutter so we

just use that to keep the cold out because there is no hot water for the 1st night (hence

no heater avaliable)

The hotel provide very basic toileries. See photo. we didn't use any.

There is a mini frige with nothing in it and 2 wine glasses provided. There is a tiny safe

inside the cupboard to use. Very oddly, there is a tissue box holder with no tissues in it

(been to a few hotels in our trip that is like this, another European thing??)

On the good side, the staff speaks great English (Indians) and the view outside the room (I get to see apartments)

and around the whole hotel is absolutely stunning. Beautiful lake backed by hills(or

mountains) and it's in a quiet neighbourhood. It's 30mins drive from the city centre so

definately not a choice for travellers who do not rent a car. We were told there's a bar

down the road but we didn't not check it out.

In Summary, I wouldn't stayed with this hotel again even if the view is great. There is

another hotel about 200ms up the road and I would check the other one out if this area is

my choice of stay.

Room Tip: ask for a view. if you want free internet in your room ask for a room just above the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We reserved a room with Hotels.com, and arrived about 9PM. The front desk had no record of our stay. We were offered "lake view" or "Mountain view", and chose the mountain view, which actually is "parking lot view", though a mountain is visible above the trucks and buses.

The hotel restaurant is closed Mondays and Tuesdays, so we ventured out into the town and found an open restaurant about 3 KM away, and were treated very well. The waitress said that the entire town is mostly closed around 1830, and that there is little to do or see.

The hotel bar is also closed, and were not willing to sell us a couple of biers to take back to the room. Since there is no mini-bar, and no open store to purchase something we spent the night in the room thirsty.

The room itself is very dated, but clean. The mattresses seem old, but fairly comfortable.

We had planned to spend a couple of days, but decided to continue our vacation elsewhere.

Room Tip: The best room is in another town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The one positive about the hotel was the great lake views from the room.

The rooms themselves were very dated, don't expect tea and coffee making facilities either. We wanted a pot of tea one night and were charged 14 franks for four teabags, hot water and four small biscuits. Rip-off city.

Front desk staff were pretty uninterested although that tends to be a feature of Switzerland generally.

Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

checked in late evening-reception not fanatastic-greeted a bit stoney.
room was dated - curtains 2 metres to short to cover full width windows and door.
bathroom basic and dated-room size good view to rear just about ok.
had balcony but possibly insufficient on soundproofing and
lack of window covering and soundproofing causing early rising.
adjacent rooms plumbing noises evident.
however in daylight spectacular position and views to front of hotel
bar and restuarant decor very fitting to image of country.
bar and breakfast staff attentive and accomodating.
breakfast buffet a bit half hearted but view and coffee on terrace nice start to day.
slightly expensive for one night stop over-but far from nightmare.
would book again if on same route.
beware switzerland not cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seehotel Sternen Beckenried? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Sternen Beckenried

Address: Buochserstrasse 54, Beckenried 6375, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Unterwalden > Canton of Nidwalden > Beckenried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beckenried
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seehotel Sternen Beckenried 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seehotel Sternen Beckenried reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Sternen Beckenried Hotel Beckenried

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seehotel Sternen Beckenried, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.