We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mercury to your Saves list
Hotel Mercury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mar 2 s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

went here begining of may last year with family and really enjoyed it, hotel was nice and clean staff didnt speak much english but we got by fine they were freindly enough also, food was really lovely we were all inclusive and always plenty of good things too eat, would definatly recommend ths hotel and would go again .

Room Tip: the rooms faceing the pool are the best as you get beautifull veiw of the beach rite across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    88
    71
    53
    54
See reviews for
123
94
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If your Spanish isn't excelente then turn away now. If you don't speak Spanish you're going to have a very frustrating time.
None of the staff know more than basic English words.

The food is very meh and the glasses are always dirty.

If you're under 50, I wouldn't even think about staying here. There's naff all to do and it's full of old people.

There's very little entertainment and half of the tv channels (which are in Spanish) don't work.

If you don't speak Spanish, the staff pretend you don't exist.

On the plus side, it's very close to the train station so you can run away to somewhere fun.

Overall, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week with an israeli group.The rooms are simple, not nice.The food is also nothing special, not the breakfast.
They don't change the towels every day.
The soap they give to the shower is tiny.The T.V. doesn't have many channels.
I would recommend to go to another hotel in this Area.It is a simple hotel, doesn't deserve to be 4 stars.
Henny Klein from Israel

Room Tip: A room with view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the first week of April. Was not informed, that in this time of the year in the hotel are only seniors and groups of school teenagers.

The facts:
Rooms
-the walls are really thin-you can hear clearly how your neighbors are talking and snoring. Every night the seniors have had disco night and sleeping before midnight was not possible
-changing of bed sheets and towels-ones per week
-the terrace was not cleaned during our stay
+ matraces are comfortable
+ the view from our second room was great
Restaurant
-too noisy
-cleanliness of the tables, chairs, table clothes-poor
-plastic tables and chairs in the dinning room
-self service for the drinks
-coffee was undrinkable, coffee cups without saucer
-repetitive food
-dessert buffet-only gelee's and puddings
-cracked plates
-not polished cutlery and glasses
-no different between lunch and dinner food
-limited choice of healthy food-the most of the dishes ware deep fried
Fitness center:
- come on i expect at least curl set up, cardio machines and some equipment in a 4* hotel gym
Location:
+++ train station to Barcelona affront of the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromdale, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a short break at this hotel we had two rooms overlooking the pool and the sea as requested. The rooms were clean and cleaned everyday with all towels changed. We were half board and although the restaurant was always busy there was always plenty of food to go round and an excellent choice as well. There are plenty sunbeds by the pool area, although I am sure it would be busy at peak holiday times.The trains run every half hour from the resort but it takes just over an hour to get to Barcelona. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

So for a short break we headed back to santa susanna. We chose the break based on cost of flight and value for money.

Rooms are very basic - don't take the Mrs for a romantic break - the rooms are not pretty - but they are clean and have good facilities.

We were all inclusive (note if you have booked B & B or HB you can updgrade at reception). The food choices were huge - we ate loads of salads and fresh fruit. If you like seafood there is loads and loads! As a veggie lunch is best. The food is served in a basement level canteen style buffet - which is usual for the area. If you are AI there is wine water etc with meal.

Pool area has new better quality sunbeds - staff are pleasant (with one exception on reception who was a tad terse ) the area has mixed visitors with lots of Russians some of which are a tad grumpy - but many were lovely.

Entertainment lady in the day always doing games - and there every evening. Didnt go with kids so no idea of kids clubs etc.

If you want a clean but basic hotel in a great spot next to the train stations this is the one, if you are looking for a romantic break not so.

Room Tip: ask for one of the modernised rooms with a wet room style shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

When we arrived in the hotel the staff were smiling and quite friendly they had asked us to wait until our room was made up, we had waited half an hour, they suggested us leaving our bags in the foyer so we could go and do what we liked while we waited, so we said we would leave them and go look round the shops, they said would you like to have your bags taken up and we said no it's alright they said our room was ready for us when we went up into the room it was still dirty from the last people that occupied the room. I was disgusted, the air con wasn't working either. Entertainment was very poor and so was dining you had to pay to have a drink of water with your dinner. All in all not great hotel to go to. But in a good location right next to the shops and train station.

Room Tip: The room we were in was in the 1st floor and it was an average room but no matter where you go in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercury

Address: Avenida del Mar 2 s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercury 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mercury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercury Hotel Santa Susana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.