We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, great staff, excellent rooms, poor food, and not targeted for brits” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sirius

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sirius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sirius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Del Mar N0 18, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Santa Susanna
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small, great staff, excellent rooms, poor food, and not targeted for brits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'll be brief....
1. small hotel with great staff
2. great rooms - spacious and well air conditioned. Slept well.
3. small pool with sun beds that were reserved for most of the day without people going anywhere near lying on them
4. entertainment tailored for the majority of guests which meant there was little for english visitors. My son (aged 13) was frustrated with this
5. Food on the whole was not good. For five days I kept saying it was the worst I'd had in any European hotel then all of a sudden the best food I had ever had in a holiday hotel was on show, and very soon in my stomach (mussels, prawns, duck in a raspberry and plum sauce, spicy meatballs....I could go on); but alas it quickly turned to rubbish the next night. Breakfast was never better than average.

The resort is good with plenty bars and places to eat. Great market on Tuesdays and excellent at night times.

The beach is minutes away - but it's a little rough on the feet.

Barcelona (just over an hour on the train) is amazing. We will definitely be going back there. The water park (Water World, about 20 minutes away) was also a great day out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director at Hotel Sirius, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente,.
Gracias por dedicar su tiempo a comentar su experiencia en nuestro hotel y lamentamos mucho no haber cubierto las expectativas que se había generado sobre nuestro producto,
tendremos muy en cuenta sus comentarios, para mejorar nuestro servicio de cara al futuro.

Atentamente.

Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really appreciated our staying in this hotel.
1. Room
The appartment was big and well furnished. LCD TV with major satellite channels. Nice bathroom with washing supplements and hairdryer. Everything looks rather new. Air conditioning works far tooo good (we were freezing sometimes). We had a balcony with the side sea view, which was good for the evenings with wine and fruits. However, the next hotel is 20 m apart, so you have to close the curtains :) We had free wine and fruits on our arrival, which was an amasing surprise.
2. Food
We had half board and it was awesome, far above our expectations. I was surprised with the variety of fish and sea food. They served jamon, brie, champaigh, smoked salmon, crabs, shells, mussels. There were big variety of meat and vegetables too. We had almost all fruits. Desserts were delicious too.
3. Location
The hotel is close to the sea, 3-4 min walking. There are Lidl and Carrefour stores 5 min walking from the hotel. You can find almost everything you need there. Prices are goood.
4. Facilities
The gym is very old, some machines are broken. However we like sauna (turkish and finnish). They also have jacuzzi.
5. Entertainment
Animation is oriented for parents with children, so for us it was borring. But it didn´t damage our rest. There are discos and bars around.

Room Tip: We were at 4th floor, it was great. Quite and close to the swimming pool and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director at Hotel Sirius, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada cliente:

Nos complace el que nos escogiera para disfrutar de sus vacaciones en Santa Susanna y le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor. Tendremos en cuenta sus comentarios, para mejorar nuestro servicio de cara al futuro. Esperamos contar nuevamente con su presencia en nuestro hotel,

Atentamente.

Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Mum and I just came back from a 14 day holiday in Santa Susanna. Must say Hotel Sirius was above our expectations, specially after reading some of the comments here.
Food was foodtastic and foodalitious! :D Staff was caring and super friendly; Restaurant service was attentive, Housemaids funny and cheerful and I would like to specially thank the Reception people who helped us organise fantastic visits around Costa Brava and Barcelona.
Rooms were super clean and the Swimming pool was really special.

So, summarizing, overall it's and excellent hotel but also an ubeatable value-for-money hotel for your vacations!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Sirius, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente:

Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.

Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed there in October 2012. We had breakfast and dinner, the food was delicious, very variable due the week. Staff was as nice as they could be after long and exhausting season... ;) Cleaning ladies were kind, polite and cheery. There were 2 things that I didn't like. The noise in the evenings is nonstopable. If you spend a week over there, by the end you'll be exhausted. I used eardrops every night, because other way wasn't possible, you can even hear the neighbours snoring, the staff starts 6 o'clock am clattering with the glasses (tare) and garbage in the "hall" between hotels beside and the noise spreads like an echo. Same in the evening atleast til 12 o'clock. Other problem was, that the rooms were little dusty, but that wouldn't have annoyed me, if I could have get some sleep... :)

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to / facing the mountains are probably quieter, especially east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Sirius, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here (two couples) for a week after disembarking a cruise in Barcelona. This is a small hotel compared to others around it but it is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff were mostly pleasant and Roger on reception was very helpful in sorting out our airport transfers.
Location: It is near the end of the strip but since Santa Susanna is not that big this wasn't a problem. The beach is a short walk across the road and is very nice.
Rooms: These were adequate though with a pretty small double bed. There is a small flat screen TV with a few channels including BBC World news. We were on the 5th floor so the balcony is basically in the roof! It was fine when it was sunny as it was completely open but useless when it rained as there was no cover. There was just enough space for a table and two chairs. The bathroom was lovely - very spacious with a great shower over the bath.
Pool: There is a nice, small pool on the 3rd floor with plenty of sunloungers and a pool bar. The cocktails are pretty good!
Lounge: There is a large lounge/bar on the 2nd floor with an outdoor terrace for smokers. It is very nice and there is entertainment there in the evening. I can't comment on that as we never stayed in to watch it.
Food: Breakfast was OK with the usual spread of cold meats, cheese, salad, etc. There is always bread and rolls on offer though they were often a bit stale. There were omlettes, fried eggs, boiled eggs and sausages on the hot buffet. Bacon seemed to only happen every second day! There are tea/coffee machines at either end of the dining room and there is usually a queue. This wasn't a problem unless you had someone in front of you making half a dozen "fancy" coffees!
We were half board so mostly had evening meal although we twice swapped this for lunch as we wanted to eat out at night. The food at dinner was fine - as long as you love pork! It was always an adventure to see how they had cooked the pork each night! In fairness it sometimes was quite nice - really just various sauces/gravy. There is a grill where fresh food is cooked and there was usually chicken, fish - and pork chops. On the buffet there was normally pasta with sauce, fish (completely tasteless) and the usual vegetables, salads, etc. There is the choice of two soups which were pretty good. One problem though is the food is ALWAYS lukewarm, no matter if you are in early or late. There is a microwave where you can warm it up though. The sweets were nice with a limited choice of cakes, blancmange and ice-cream. I definitely can't class the food as 4 star. Also the dining room is so noisy! It has high ceilings, bright lights and absolutely no atmosphere. It actually became quite depressing as the week went on, hence we ate out the last two days.
The hotel seems to cater for mostly older guests - we are not youngsters by any means but felt young in that dining rooms at times! There is a list of extras in the room which you can purchase. One of them was rubber bed sheets!
In summary this is a very nice, clean hotel but the food leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony with a roof don't choose the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Sirius, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

just got back from a brill stay at the above mentioned hotel the food was fantastic, a big thank-you to the staff for making our stay great....and gents dont forget your long trousers at dinner time also if you want to eat out ???? go just along the road and your come across plenty of places to eat....watch your wallet in the evening as there are plenty of peeps who dont like working for aliving (if you get what i mean) other than that this is a resort that has everything you could ask for

Room Tip: get a room away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Sirius, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente:

Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.

Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset, englad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lovely hotel and staff. Had wonderful time of relaxing and good food. Can't fault hotel, lovely pool on 3rd floor!! with beautiful view of the sea. Evenings quiet but plenty of entertainment in nearby hotels. Near all the shops with stalls in the evenings and a great market on Tuesdays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirius2011, Director de Hotel at Hotel Sirius, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente:
Le agradecemos el tiempo que ha dedicado a realizar y publicar su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Atentamente.
Carlos Chicharro
Director Hotel Sirius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sirius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirius

Address: Avda. Del Mar N0 18, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sirius 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the tourist centre of Santa Susana, just 150 m from the nearest beach and 100 m from the closest shops and bars. The neighbouring towns are Pineda del Mar and Malgrat del Mar. Links to the public transport network also lie within walking distance.This modern hotel was newly opened in the year 2000 and comprises 161 rooms with a total of 5 floors. The hotel offers access to various facilities including a foyer with a 24-hour reception desk and a lift. There is also an inviting lobby bar with a sea view and an air-conditioned à la carte restaurant to while the day away. A conference rooms as well as laundry and room services are available.The inviting rooms come with an en suite bathroom, direct dial telephone, satellite TV and a minibar. Individually regulated air conditioning/ central heating, a hire safe as well as a terrace also come as standard.There is a freshwater swimming pool a various spa offering including a sauna, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a solarium available for use. There is also a gym for more active guests as well as other activities such as motor boating, windsurfing, sailing and catamaran sailing (additional fees apply). The nearest golf course is 12 km away.Guests may select their breakfast as well as lunch and evening meal from a buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sirius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirius Hotel Santa Susana
Sirius Santa Susana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sirius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.