We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL - NICE AND CLEAN” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Susanna Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Susanna Resort to your Saves list
Santa Susanna Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Nacional 11, km 680, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL - NICE AND CLEAN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Party of 3 stayed for 4 nights 26/9-30/9. Room was ready when we arrived. On the ground floor. No sun on this room all day but we weren't bothered because it kept it nice and cool. Both the bedroom and bathroom were really clean and there was plenty of storage. Food was OK, there is actually something for everyone. All inclusive drinks were fine and a really good selection. Hotel does feel very dated and dark and could do with a make-over but everywhere is very clean and tidy. Staff were OK and worked very hard... they have a lot of patience to be putting up with some of the guests that where there at the same time as us. Would not return to this hotel but not because we didnt like it, just because we like to try new things.

Room Tip: Ground floor dont have a view but are kept cool with having no sun on them all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    534
    348
    186
    183
See reviews for
613
467
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just returned from a week here, all inclusive. For the price we paid we couldn't ask for any more! We had a party of 6, and there was plenty to do inside the hotel and in the Santa Susannah area.
Rooms were clean, food was ok, if a little repetitive, there is definately something for everyone. A short walk for the train to Barcelona was fantastic, and cheap!!
Short transfer to Girona airport.
Staff were helpful, all in all we enjoyed our week!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned from the Santa Susanna - Friday 23.9.11. We had a 5 night stay all inclusive for £225 each which included flights, transfers and a room upgrade (£35). We flew into Girona which is the nearest airport to the hotel - about 30-40 minutes away. Far better than flying into Barcelona if you can stand Ryanair.

The upgrade was a waste of money as we were put in what was supposedly a family room. 3 single beds in a room in the eaves - you could only stand up in the middle of the room.

Although we looked out over the pool, the hotel is actually right next to a very busy and noisy dual-carriage-way. We had no balcony. Sitting out for a quiet drink in the evening was not really an option as the front of the hotel faced the road and the other seating area was sideways on.

The hotel is quite old and tired looking. The staff worked endlessly to keep all areas clean, but it desperately needs a refurbishment.

The food was generally as we expected for the price. Nothing great, but always something to eat. We tended to eat out at lunchtime.

We didn't sit by the pool - even in September people were queuing for sunbeds as soon as they were put out. The beach is not far away and is lovely. We walked there and back. The sea shelves quite quickly so is not perhaps great for small kids. You found yourself out of your depth very quickly.

We went into Barcelona 2 days in a row. We had to queue for an hour the first day to get our train tickets and then wait 30 minutes for the train. You can't buy tickets in advance at the ticket office.

All in all we were happy with the price we paid, but we wouldn't go back to this particular hotel or resort.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

just returned from this hotel 2 x mature regular travelling couples,don't know where to start,no aircon the hotel is very old one of the first built on the resort, you have to go up or down a floor to use the toilets the breakfast is the best meal of the day lunch and diner is shocking and by no means am i a choosy eater i will have a go at anything the two main meals of the week is pork and chicken always cold and either very salty or with a uniquie taste?.one afternoon had left my door card in the restaurant i went back down about 4pm to see that the nights diners were already sitting out including the childrens section not good? when we where talking to some of the other guest's to ask what they thought of the hotel some said they would never come back and others said they loved it , the ones who said they loved it never left the hotel all week and are regular visitors don't go anywhere??? ,myself wife and my brther and his wife take 3 one week holidays every year and have done for many a year and we have stayed in some crap places but this place is the only one that we have ever agreed upon that its only worth 1 star rating ,okay you will allways find something to munch on and you only get what you pay for but we have stayed in better for cheaper last minute deals ,also i must point out that in 30 years of travelling abroad this is the first ever review i have done so it must be bad because i am easily pleased so go at your peril all the best. oh the staff who serve you both in the restaurant and bar are very very nice.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORDSHIRE,ENGLAND
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We booked the entire package with Easyjet for the first time and were pleasantly surprised.
All went to plan with no hitches. One thing to be aware of is the long transfer times. We had a ¾ hr wait followed by a 2 hr transfer to the hotel and on the return we were picked up at 16.50 for a 21.55 flight (5 hrs!) Also a most unhelpful driver – no help with cases or directions at the airport (so no tip!!)

The Santa Susanna Resort is a ten minute walk or a five minute bus ride from the sea and the town centre. Buses are regular except mid afternoon when they seem to stop for siesta.

Their rooms are basic with the smallest shower cubicle I have ever seen!!
They are filled for maximum occupancy so we had a double and a single bed in quite a small room. They are however cleaned to a high standard and the towels replaced every day. Even in mid September air conditioning would have been welcome as it was still 26°c some nights. While I appreciate that this is a budget hotel it would be nice as a chargeable extra.

The hotel is cleaned non stop by an excellent team who work very hard. All the staff were hard working and pleasant.

The pool is smallish but was not too crowded. There are plenty of sunbeds (could do with some mattresses) in September but a shortage of places to put them. People still hovering waiting for the 8.30 unlocking.

The food and drinks are excellent value for money and you would certainly not go hungry. There is a full fry up with toast, cereal,rolls, ham, cheese etc. for breakfast and three meat dishes and a fish with a choice of potatoes, rice, pasta. Not much choice of veg but plenty of salad. The poolside snack bar was also good serving burgers,chips, hot dogs etc.

We prefer to sit out on the terrace with a drink in the evening so can't really comment on the entertainment.

There is an excellent train service to Barcelona and you can buy a combined ticket with the tourist buses for 23 €. A return on the train is 7.80 €. There is also a coach from the hotel most days. Barcelona is very large and busy and there seemed to be some long queues for the tourist buses so we took the coach then went back a few days later by train and walked through the Rambalas to the harbour. (Don't forget to ask for a packed lunch. Barcelona can be expensive)

Overall recommended for a budget break and a good base for Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Good points... Staff and service friendly and informative. Rooms basic but cleaned every day, as was all hotel. Food and drink better than some all inclusives. Eating area bright and pleasant. Good atmosphere out on the spacious verranda. Free train to beach and town was very regular. Bad points. Guests returning to their rooms late at night can be a bit noisy but not overmuch. Pool area a bit cramped and not too attractive.

Room Tip: "Ask for a room at the back if you fancy an early night." "Use the main rail service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Myself and my now Wife booked this as our first holiday together,it was a late booking in june 2008 for august the same year.We didnt get a cheap deal so for an all inclusive 1 weeks stay it cost us £950.
The hotel was fairly old and our room which was down on the bottom was clean but nothing to brag about,the food was ok and pretty much the same day in day out.We arnt the sort of people to complain about stupid things and although this isnt a 5 star hotel it was fine for what we paid.The night time entertainment was awfull and other than having a few drinks before we went out we never stayed in the hotel all nite.
The BEST bit about this holiday was the beaches!! there was miles and miles of unspoilt golden sands and they were all empty most ov the time,you could easily find your own spot with nobody around you.In some peoples opinion it would probadly be too far to walk but we loved walking down to beach it was around a 15/20 minutes.It was great for the overall body tan!! :)
There is a free train which runs past the hotel and down to the beach and shop areas which the kids all loved.Also we took a trip into Barcelona,the train station is down on the coast and took about 1-1.5 hours to get into the city,it was great for a day out.

Room Tip: Dnt accept one on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Susanna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Susanna Resort

Address: Ctra Nacional 11, km 680, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Susanna Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Santa Susanna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Susanna Hotel Santa Susana
Hotel Santa Susanna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Susanna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.