We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is OK but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caprici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caprici to your Saves list
Hotel Caprici
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Maritim s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Skierniewice, Poland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“is OK but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel Caprici is located at the end of the Santa Susanna town. Hotel is clean and nice. Has direct access to the sea and nice view of the sea and beach from the hotel terrace.

Rooms - tidy and cleaned everyday. but there is no fridge or electric kettle. TV is really small and has limited number of TV programs, mainly German or Spanis
Swimmingpool - nice and maybe not very big but OK
You dont have to pay for the sunbed, only at the beach.
Food - well at first this was OK, something new everyday, however after one week we had enough and we were dreaming about other kitchen - we had HB

this hotel is good for families with kids - lots of day activities, water games, other games. For parents Zumba and water aerobic in the morning. Evening shows, discos, salsa lessons - but it depends on what kind of people you have - some will just wont have fun then this is quite boring

Service at the receptions is nice, they speak basic english, russian, german and I think french.

the train station is very close to the hotel so if you want to go to Barecelna, the connection is good - approx 10E ticket for round trip, 1h 15 min trip to the city center of Barecelona

far to the shops and restaurants since Santa Susanna city center is quite far, so if you like discos, bars and nightlifer I really dont recommend this hotel

in general I would say this is average

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
35
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just had a one week Holiday Full Board, The hotel is very clean, Situated next to the beach we stayed in room 240 looking over the beach views, Food was good for 3 star hotel, when I read about over peoples reviews I was thinking of changing hotel but we are both glad we never, away from the noisy area of Santa Susanna, The Train station stop is next to hotel we went to Barcelona one day for 8 euro return 40 mins travel, The staff were friendly and helpful without any fuss, The pool was lovely and from morning till night you have the sun not like built up area's, Will Definitely stay again soon for longer next time had a Fab Holiday.
From Andy & Kathryn Phillips From Plymouth Uk

Room Tip: We stayed in room 240 excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

this hotel is at the very end of santa susanna too far from town we wanted to go to malgrat but hotel had delayed its opening from caprici to malgrat was 8 euro there and back its a good 2 mile walk and I have walking difficulties. the hotel itself is lovely the rooms the pool the bar cannot complain on the other hand the food was some of the worse I have ever had on holiday if there was some thing to eat possibly breakfast was best but all food was cold what ever time you ate. the bar staff were good rest of staff forget it. only cater for spainsh made to feel unwelcome 15 brits and full hotel of Spanish would never go back there it is not for british no entertainment unless you like dancing to spaish music night after night after night glad to be home

Room Tip: room facing pool ours was 233 but don't go in my opion
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is in a good location, away from other noisy hotel and close to the city center. The rooms are clean and comfortable. food is good for a three star hotel but not varied. Staff was not polite and has a lot of Russians. The pool was full of Croatian teenager who made awful noise, and no one could swim ten days. We were on 15 June 30th and the staff did not give umbrellas until 20 The beach is very close, but for 3 On the beach are two beach chairs and parasol 15 euros per day. The animation is good for a three star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view the view is magical, but not bad view on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I don't usually write reviews but for the sake of other families with young children or babies, I feel they need to know about this hotel. This hotel is definitely not the worst but there were some real flaws.

NEGATIVES:
1. Cot we was given was literally falling apart and mattress did not fit, leaving dangerous gaps for baby to fall through so you would definitely need your own cot. There is also no bath.
2. Nowhere to store fresh, cold milk. They did end up storing it for us in the bar but had to push for this.
3. Swimming pool was so full with chlorine one day that our swim outfits completely changed colour! So do not take brand new ones with you like we did. Reception staff were not even bothered that it had ruined our clothes, so it clearly happens a lot.
4. Children's play area not completely safe. There is a staircase at the back of the play area with a missing step leaving two large, sharp pieces of metal sticking out of the ground. An accident waiting to happen!
5. Food is poor and pretty much the same every day. Our 15 month old daughter usually eats everything but this she would not touch. Had to resort to jars for most of the holiday.
6. Access to the hotel is not suitable for people with lots of luggage and buggies due to the subway. Any time we wanted access to the main strip we had to carry the buggy and any other baggage up and down the stairs.
7. Variations with the attitude of staff, some were lovely and happy to entertain the baby and have a smile, whilst others seemed not to care especially when my husband was suffering from a very swollen knee; when asking from some ice, he was simply told 'no'.
8. Issues with lifts! They definitely did not design this hotel well. There is not enough lifts/room in the lifts, to accommodate the number of hotel guests. Sometimes we had to let the lift pass us 3 or 4 times before there was room to get in.
9. Doors constantly slamming, enough to shake your room. Noise echoes badly through corridors.
10. Nothing to do with the hotel but the beach is pebbly/shingly with a large dip into the sea where you sink into the sand, so this can be a bit dangerous.

POSITIVES:
1. Right on the beach. If you are lucky enough to get a sea view room then the views are lovely.
2. Right at the bottom of the strip so it is a nice quiet location (once the slamming of the doors has stopped). Could not hear the train at all like others have said.
3. The Santa Susanna side of the strip is quite pretty with little market stalls and music etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as views are pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were the only British couple here. The hotel and resort is full of Russian and Polish nationalities. The food was inedible and we decided to eat elsewhere. Very disappointing and will not be returning to the Costa Brava so if you're British be warned and give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pros:
- perfect proximity and access to the sea
- very clean rooms
- far from the noise-producing hotels in the central area
- beach spanning miles, great for running and cycling

Cons:
- you still get lots of noise from the other hotels
- food as per usual for a 3-star hotel in this area, i.e. bad
- access to water is totally unsuitable for small children

General characteristics of the area - not specific to this hotel:

Access to the sea:
On pictures the beach looks children-friendly, but the stones are rough and hurt child's feet. The sea drops very deep right away. An adult has to start swimming at about 1 meter from the shore, so this is completely not suitable for small children. Waves kind of undermine the stones under your legs and it is difficult to stay upright - when you are holding a child.

Noise:
This was the noisiest place we've been to. Hotel Caprici is one of the quieter ones. But other hotels in the area will play very very loud music practically the whole day and into the night, stopping only at about midnight. The music is of the crudest class - bass thumping pop/club/disco stuff. We don't understand why anyone would want to spend their holidays listening to this but I guess that's what you get in Costa Brava.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city center will get noise from other hotels (heavy thump dance music 10 hours a da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caprici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprici

Address: Passeig Maritim s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caprici 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caprici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprici Hotel Santa Susana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caprici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.