We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahiti Playa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tahiti Playa Hotel to your Saves list
Tahiti Playa Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Marvellous family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in the Tahiti Playa in September. Hotel is situated right on the beach and only a short walk away to the station for trips to Barcelona. Pool area is very clean as is all the HOTEL. We went half board which at first i was a bit dubious about as both my wife and I are fussy eaters. Have no fear... the food is excellent. The breakfast and dinner are served as a buffet with the chefs cooking the meats in front of you. There is a disco in the basement but we never heard any noise from it. Entertainment is laid on at the pool area and finishes at a reasonable time of 12 o clock.
Yes the rooms are a bit basic but it,s classed as a 3 star and you get what you pay for. You don,t spend much time in room apart from sleeping.
Train to Barcelona every 20-30 mins from the station at Santa Susanna or Malgrat costs 8.5 euros return and takes an hr. Transport around Barcelona is easy to use.
Playa de Catalonia to Sangrada by taxi is 8 euros so really cheap.This was my 10th time to Barcelona and any future trips I will certainly book at this Hotel. An excellent family friendly hotel where you can leave the kids in the company of the hotel staff in the daytime while you relax at the beach or pool. ps thank you to all the staff for making this a great holiday for me

Room Tip: choose a room away from the pool if you want peace in the daytime but not in the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    157
    78
    35
    13
See reviews for
151
94
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Tahiti playa for 9 nights half board and l think we were the only Brits there,there entertainment was catered for the Spanish and French. The pools were clean but the sunbeds were cluttered and too close to eachother. The rooms were small and very basic,the air con was none existent. The was no fridge and the wardrobe space was very small. The food wasn't anything exciting either,especially breakfast. Evening meals weren't bad,be warned people start queuing from 6:30 and its hectic in there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

we have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and we were not very impressed ! The hotel and pools were very clean. The room was quite basic, there was no fridge in the room . we went half board and were very dissapointed with the food. The breakfast must be the worst we have had and the evening meal was not much better. I dont no if we went at the wrong time but i would say 95% of the guests were Spanish. We felt very alienated and all the entertainment was in spanish, which wasnt very good anyway, we tried to find an english excursion book in the many that were in reception but there were none and none of the reps spoke english ! The pool area was far too crowded with sunbeds. If your English this isnt the hotel for you !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is right on the great beach and within walking distance of the train station for trips to Barcelona. Staff are friendly and courteous and while the property is old, it is very clean. The buffet style food is fine with a good selection. I saw that some reviews suggested that breakfast is the same every day which it is not. There is bacon always with eggs(either fried,scrambled or a plain omelette) and there may be baked beans,pancakes,various sausages(lovely spicy spanish type), a kind of pork based pudding. There is a large selection of cold food including cerears,yogurt,fruit, breads,pastries,cold meats & salad. The selaction at dinner is excellent. It is important to note that this is a 3 star property and very cheap so do not expect too much by way of facilities and of course extras are charged for. The entertainment at night is too loud although it finishes at 11. Also there is no fridge in the room so ice machines on the floors which have soft drink/water machines would be a big plus. From our observation, the childrens club seemed well run and the staff were lovely to the young children especially.

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the sea rather than the pool may be best if you want to avoid the entertainm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I liked this hotel a lot. in comparison with other 3 star hotels, this one is the best. it is located 1 h by train to Barcelona and in a nice Santa Susanna Resort place. It is big, rooms are very clean and cozy. Staff is super friendly)))) Beach is big and clean. Food is very tasty with a great choice. It is good both for families and for couples))) There were a lot of people from Russia, Germanu, France. I was very happy I stayed there and I advise it to others !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I have been to the Costa Brava 3 times previous to this holiday and we have never really stayed at the hotel just went out.

This hotel was so nice in the perfect location. We went half board and I'm a really fussy eater but the food is lovely. At lunch time you don't have to leave the hotel as they have there own cafe right next to the beach the food was so nice and cheap.

You wake up in the morning go to your balcony and you have a amazing view of the beach which I loved.

First time ever I spent all day by the pool overlooking the beach just relaxing while my little brother loved the hotel swimming pool which kept him happy. We normally like to do day trips like waterparks or go to Barcelona town but the hotel was so nice we decided to stay at hotel this holiday. In the evening we took a walk through the town. We enjoyed going into the little tourist shops also they had a few entertainers on street like London with there moving statues and a street market every evening. I think my little brother loved this little arcade bit which had games bouncy castles loads for the kids to do.

Entertainment at the hotel was good and bad mostly because everything was in Spanish. I really enjoyed the parrot show they put on and the reptile show and the Kenya show these were spoken in English and where really good. On night's where we couldn't understand the show as no translation we didn't mind as the royal sun hotel a few doors down and hotels In the town provide entertainment and don't mind you joining in as long as you buy drinks which was great.

Hotel rooms are very basic. Theres a tv but only one English channel which was the news but all we did was sleep there. It was clean bit small but had everything we needed.

I have really enjoyed my stay and would say out of the hotels I have stayed at in the Costa Brava this has been the best hotel so far and I will def be back.

Thank you Tahiti playa for my wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself and my Fiance stayed in this hotel for a week. Classic 3star hotel. We have to remember that "STARS" are different in Spain, Ireland, France etc.
Spanish "3stars" hotel have quite small rooms with paper thin walls, basic furnishings, no tea/coffee facility in the room, no iron. However we were not dissapointed because we have done some "research" at Trip before we booked it:)
Hotel is just next to the beach and that was the main reason to book this one.Located in the heart of Santa Susanna hotel district. Until 12am (doesn't matter in witch room U R staying) you can hear sound of music from main street discos. Thanks God we have ear plugs:)
Ok, enough of complains:)
Now few words about people and atmosphere in this hotel:)
All the personnel are great!!!!!they are very nice, polite, prompt, cheerful, always willing to help!!
Dominika(from Poland), Fernandez (from Columbia) and very funny Restaurant host ( unfortunately I don't remember his name:( Tall, spanish, with glasses, bald-headed) are the pride of this restaurant!!
There was always a lot food, different every day, big selection of fruits, salads, meats and desserts.
We never take a part of any animation but We have see, that they doing great job at the swimming pool and at the evening time entertainments:)
Also reception staff are very helpful.
Summing: If you expect typical 3 star hotel with good food, nice staff and near the beach-the tahiti playa hotel is a good choice.
I know that some people complained at trip about "poor food selection" or "sea view". Well, if want to eat salmon and caviar do not choose this hotel for sure.
It`s nice, budget hotel.
Ps sunbeds are for free only at the swimming pool area, on the beach U have to pay5euro per day for one chair and 5euro for beach umbrella. OR do what we have done-buy beach umbrella for 8euro in the shop next door:)It is really matter if you stay for a week:P more money to spend in the "happy hour-buy one get one free" bar.

Room Tip: There is an extra charge for swimming pool and sea view( from 6-12 euro depends on season). We have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahiti Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Playa Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tahiti Playa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 472
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tahiti Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Playa
Tahiti Playa Santa Susana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahiti Playa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.