We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avienda del Mar 21, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Santa Susanna
hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here for a few days in july, on arriving i shared a joke with the receptionist who seemed pleasent enough, but when asked for my transfer coach time i was given incorrect time twice which led to me missing coach and paying 60 euro for taxi to girona (not happy) have contacted hotel and shuttle direct (poor service there too) got nowhere apart from being told "at least you got home" no thanks to you. area is great and lively towards malgrat, get train to barcelona is a must and visit ramblas... next time i go i'm gonna have a word face to face and see if they fob me off in person.... lots of spaniards pestering young english girls outside clubs...you have been warned....

Room Tip: poolside good view but noisy til midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    84
    76
    28
    47
See reviews for
84
107
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I think Valerie G was at a different hotel. We only stayed a couple of nights but found this hotel clean and comfortable and the variety of food was good. Admitted the music was extremely loud - from the hotel next door - but everying went off at midnight and we had very good undisturbed sleep. The bathroom was extremely small and cramped but hey you don't spend your holiday in the bathroom - had a shower AND a bath - don't always find that either. This hotel is extremely well located - just opposite the underpass to the beach, in the centre of the main shopping area and very close to some good bars and restaurants. Couldn't get over how cheap the drinks were - 3 euros for TWO glasses of wind - not top notch admittedly but drinkable and under 8 euros for a litre of Sangria. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Don't rush out to grab a sunbed because the sun very quickly gets round to the whole of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

10/09/2012__15/09/2012
My wife and I stayed at the Riviera hotel in Santa Susanna on a short break, our room was typical of the better hotels in the area and was spotless and very importantly smelled pleasantly clean.
My only criticism is that the walls are very thin between rooms and thus noises generating from neighboring guests can be irritating.
The maid service is excellent, rooms cleaned every day, clean sheets and towels etc.
Bar staff very good, prices surprisingly good compared to other hotels ex: small beer 1.6 euros
large beer 2.6 euros, cocktails 4.1 euros.
my one serious complaint is the restaurant, the food on offer suffered from poor cooking and a totally chaotic set up for the buffet areas which causes a free for all. also the quisine was generally targeted at an eastern European/Russian palate.
I genuinely enjoyed my stay, however I feel that if the problem with the organisation of the restaurant serving area and the variety of the buffet menu were addressed that this hotel could well move up to a 4* status will little difficulty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I spent 5 nights and 6 days at the hotel with my partner and 5 year old son. The hotel was clean, the staff were excellent, the room was adequate and cleaned every day. Overall a great location for a relaxing holiday. I was half board the food was very good with a great variety at all meal times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I consider myself well travelled and have stayed in hotels of varying standards. We went here half board for a week and basically used the hotel as a bedroom and for food.
The room was clean and tidy with all the normal facilities and was serviced every day. The food was not great but was passable, breakfast was better than dinner and a week of it was enough.

If your looking for a clean room and a base this will be ok for you, if you want to enjoy a hotel to holiday in there are better in this resort.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Been to santa susana 5 times this is by far the worst hotel there.THE FOOD IS DIRE .raw meat n stinky fish every meal time . Breakfast was about the best and even that was hot dog sausages .do yourself a favour pay a little more for a nicer hotel .the hotel was clean but the staff especially on reception were so rude gave us a room with 2 beds for 4 people when i went to reception they proceeded to tell me they would put 2 more beds in what a joke 2 spanish cleaners trying to fit 2 more beds in they heaved and they howed and just as i had explained to the receptionist they couldnt fit them in much to her annoyance she gave us a bigger room and proceeded to scowl at me for the rest of the week wouldnt go back to yhis hotel if it was free

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I like others read a lot of bad reviews before going especially about the food. For my first time,i went half-board as it was so cheap. I must say, the food was excellent. If you could not find something nice either at breakfast or dinner then there is something wrong with you and maybe you should stay at home in future. It was buffet with a great variety and a great way to try new foods. The rooms were basic but they changed the towels every day. One or two at reception could do with smiling more. The pool and bar were grand (internet available) and the location was excellent. Overall, great value for money. I have stayed here twice and have no complaint.

Room Tip: Pool view will offer ringside seat to next doors shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Avienda del Mar 21, 08398 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Santa Susana
Riviera Santa Susana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.